We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Japanese food - great service!”
Review of Jin Kichi

Jin Kichi
Ranked #2,308 of 23,015 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $51
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Japanese food - great service!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

An amazing little restaurant in the heart of Hampstead. My husband and I have been here a number of times and loved it. The service is very attentive and polite. The food is great - very fresh sushi and sashimi, great variety of skewers cooked on the charcoal and excellent sake.
The restaurant is very small, but we particularly like sitting at the bar upstairs, to watch a chef cooking the skewers. Downstairs is quite tight, especially if you are at the table in the corner, where the workers get changed at the end of the night. It becomes difficult for them to squeeze between your table and the pile of hanging jackets located there also!

Great place overall - it will be our regular.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nleow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    59
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Hampstead, London!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A favorite of my wife and I for late Sunday lunch. Sushi here is the best I had in London outside of Soho. Service is very nice and prompt and the kitchen (If you dine upstairs) is just in front of you. The eel is to die for here and the yellow tail was outstanding. A great place just up from the Clock Tower in Hampstead and a 1 minute walk from the tube station.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewVail8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This excellent Japanese restaurant is indeed small and when we visited on Sunday lunchtime, packed with lots of Japanese customers, so book. The menu is surprisingly large covering all the major foods including excellent sashimi, glorious tempura and grill sticks cooked in front of you. Prices are reasonable but parking in Hampstead is not so go by train or taxi.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Facchino46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing food - LOVE IT!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have come here for years and despite moving further away always make this our destination for special dinners! The food is always so fresh, hot, crispy, tender and the quality is always maintained. The only issues here is it can be expensive (WORTH IT) and unless you're lucky you need to book!! TRY IT! AMAZING!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richardbernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Felt very welcomed, great service, and great sushi!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I decided to stop in to Jin Kichi late, at around 2100. We were instantly seated at the sushi bar and our order was received immediately. The staff were so gracious, and, the seafood was very fresh.

We were rather late comers, but we were never mis-treated, or felt that we should leave. The sushi was fresh and delicious, and our servers and chefs were so professional and kind.

If we should ever come back to Hampstead, Jin Kichi will be tops on our list to revisit!

Thank you for a lovely dinner and evening experience!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank passion4travel296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jin Kichi also viewed

 

Been to Jin Kichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing