We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Food in a Lively Atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sale e Pepe

Sale e Pepe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sale e Pepe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #323 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $87
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge
Description: Now in its fortieth year of service, Sale e Pepe continues to attract clientele from all over the world. Generations have come to rely on this traditional Italian trattoria just two minutes' walk from Harvey Nichols and Harrods in Knightsbridge. Guests love the consistently good cooking, using fresh ingredients, the great atmosphere and the familiar faces of the friendly Italian staff who haven't changed much in all the years Sale e Pepe has been open. Manager for over 35 years, Tony knows everyone and everyone knows Tony. Sale e Pepe is famous for its fresh dover sole, calves liver and veal chop. The pasta dishes are highly recommended too with excellent specials changing daily. The cuisine will remind you of your favourite meals in Italy.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good Food in a Lively Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The food was really good in an enjoyable setting. The staff were fun, friendly and knowledgable. If you are in the back part of the restaurant, it can probably get a bit noisy. We were towards the front and had no problem with noise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    209
    62
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Looking for exceptional Italian food and service in London. Sale E Pepe is a great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit with the first over two years ago. If anything, it has gotten better. The service is great and our waiter was very helpful on selections. At his advice we opted for the special Lasagne and it was to die for. A mushroom pasta dish and a veal scallopini with a cognac sauce were our main entrees. Great location in Knightsbridge not too far from Harrods.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very cosy italian style, exceptionally friendly staff but food is really disappointing.

We had a parmigiana and burrata as a starter. The burrata I have to admit was of very good quality, fresh and as it should be. The parmigiana was cold, not as it should have been done but rather a fried aubergine with tomato sauce and mozzarella on top...

The tagliata and minutina were both of good quality as meat, but the execution by the chef was terrible, the sauce was bland and really nothing to do with italian cooking. The accompanying vegetables were again cold and bland.

Dessert, the tiramisu, was very unusual, maybe english style but not as it should be. Some syrup was added...

Before leaving the waiter offered us a glass of limoncello, which I have to say in good italian style compensated for the unusually poor performance by the cuoco

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndersBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An Italian oasis in knigtsbridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I am Italian. And when I am in London I usually make a point of going to sale e pepe for dinner as it is a great Italian place. The ultimate test is always the pasta which I find good by any standard. The waiters are also very good and display the classic Italian ease to talk with the clients , as an Italian I always feel at home here, I hope it doesn't change!-

Helpful?
Thank Orlando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fast but slow, noisy but passionate. Very Italian.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

went there last night. we reached slightly late, they gave our table to another group. while waiting for our table - more and more people coming in and crammed the tiny waiting room.
very pacey, energetic and loud - waiters, maitre d', seems like running around like mad.

cut the long story short, we seated. crammed table. sitting very close to the next table.
quickly someone taking our order for drinks. and then food. very fast service. good.

bread selection was good and tasty.

the wine - full bodied. nice.

we ordered calamari fritti and asparagus with butter and parmegiano to share... both fantastic!

for main course, I ordered their Gnocchi with tomato sauce and basil. it was beautiful! the tomato sauce was superb, best Gnocchi I ever taste.

then for the dessert, I was lucky I got the last plate of their profitterole. very decadent. chocolate was great, cream was not too sweet, and the pastry was perfectly baked.

all was great experience. took a while for someone to get our bill. yawn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulSidharta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sale e Pepe also viewed

 

Been to Sale e Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing