We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessible location and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Ranked #772 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was one of the cheapest hotels I was able to find in London so I didn't have high expectations on the hotel. I was nicely surprised. Although the room was very small, it was a good space to rest our heads for the night.
If you want reasonable accommodation for a reasonable price, I would book here. But, if you like your luxury and expect outstanding quality and lots of room, then don't.
I would say it's great for location and being a budget traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippyN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 541 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

Loved the location, it was so easy to move around because it was very close to three tube and bus stations. The room was fairly clean and had a balcony which was charming and generally we found it value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonioula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Treated like criminals on arrival. Demanded credit card or we could not stay. We had already paid in advance. And also demanded to take a copy of drivers licence. So now they have ID and card numbers. Anyway the room, bed pushed against wall. So had to climb over each other- fun!! No window!! Room 505. Room was clean bed comfy despite positioning.
It was a cheap option at the time, during half term where central hotels hike up prices. Will not return, and mainly because of the appalling treatment on check in.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel123190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Chose this hotel because of its location which was perfect for a short stay in London. Very easy access to West End and attractions. The hotel cost £70 per night so wasn't expecting 5 star but the room was filthy dirty - marks all over the walls and a very unclean dirty shower. The tap in the kitchen was leaking as was the kettle !!. The bed linen was however clean and we did get a good nights sleep which is what needed as was out all day. All this hotel need to do is ensure the rooms are clean and presentable and this review would be very good !!.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Bigrobbo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We had booked to stay here for four nights and were really looking forward to it as it was our first break away in ages.

However upon seeing our room we found it to be really dirty - bed sheets had blood stains on them and cups etc looked like they had just been used. Also don't be fooled by them saying each room has a kitchen - hardly! A kettle and small fridge is all. We then complained to the receptionist who said 'I don't know I don't see the rooms!' She rang for someone to check the room saying 'Apparently there are marks on the sheets'. There was no apology or anything.

We were shown a further two rooms both of which were shocking - filthy! The showers were disgusting that there was no way you would step in there, marks on the sheets, electrics loose on the wall.... I could go on! The staff were most unhelpful and just didn't care, no apology or anything.

I rang our travel agency and just by emailing some photos for evidence we were able to stay somewhere else after one night and got a refund for those nights we didn't stay.

I have never had to complain about a hotel before! awful, awful, awful.....avoid completely!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank rkg08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3days and 2 nights costing us £156 which may sound expensive but compared to other hotels this was brill, the hotel is approx 5min walk from 2 train stations and easy to find the reception are was clean and staff were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. The room was small but very clean and suited us as we had lots planned and weren't staying there long, at the end of our stay we had to check out by 11 but our bus wasn't arriving until 5 the hotel kept our bags for us so we could make the most of our last day. In all this was perfect!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurajones88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked this hotel for my family to stay here while visiting me in London, the place is clean and the staff was very helpful. Rooms are big, air con, fridge and nice windows!
Great value for money for such a central location!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponyosakana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#404 of 1,081 in London
318 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#576 of 1,081 in London
491 reviews
Caring Hotel
#557 of 1,081 in London
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#885 of 1,081 in London
256 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#324 of 1,081 in London
2,398 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#747 of 1,081 in London
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London

Address: 23-25 Leinster Square | Westminster, London W2 4NE, England (Formerly So Hyde Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #772 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $77 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London is a Victorian-era townhouse with modern guestrooms. Our locations borders some of the City's most attractive vicinities to explore, and with London's top attraction only moments away, this will be your ideal base to transport connections at your doorstep to it's easy to explore even further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park London
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing