We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware stolen items!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Ranked #766 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware stolen items!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have recently stayed at this hotel and although it has its positives for location being near a tube station and being relatively modern, my trip has being massively tainted by the fact when I left my luggage in holding for 2 hours my (expensive) makeup had been stolen from the top of my suitcase, we have rung the hotel several times and they don't seem to care or have anything to say about the situation. Anyone planning on staying in this hotel make sure you lock away your belongings even if you think they are safe locked away in your room.

Secondly we booked two double rooms each paying the same price per night, however when we got into our rooms they were completely different, which yes can be expected however for one to be a tiny boxroom with minimal space down one side of the bed and the sink almost being on top of the shower, luckily we are fairly slender but anyone with a slightly bigger build would have serious problems. The second room was almost double in size, with a much more spacious bathroom they also had a hairdryer and a wardrobe in their room something the smaller room did not have.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter, the front facing rooms are very noisy on an evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anza03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    173
    144
    66
    70
See reviews for
102
214
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last ditch attempt at getting a few decent rooms for a family trip to central London in mid June. It was the only thing in central which came in withing budget so we booked it with the thought that 'it'd do' for one night.
The hotel completely exceeded my poor expectations!! Points of note:
1. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
2. Room was spacious and seemed to have been recently refurbished.
3. Room and linen were clean.
4. Mini bar was stocked and reasonably priced (£2.50 for a bottle of Peroni).
5. Cheap tea and coffee rather than something like Nescafé or Tetley. A small upgrade in the tea/coffee facilities would go a long way!

Overall a pleasant stay and I would recommend for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxy531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed briefly at this hotel for two nights. This hotel is the one on Leinster Square, not to be confused with the much nicer hotel of a similar name on Bayswater. Rather than bore you with the kind of lengthy review that this hotel does not deserve, I'll simply list the bad and good points here.
Bad:
- Small room.
- Uncomfortable bed.
- Cheap bedding, very wrinkled and did not fit the duvet properly.
- Large number of scuffs on walls.
- Floor not level, poor quality flooring.
- Ensuite shower room cleaned with so much bleach it made it hard to breathe.
- Noisy, I could hear people in neighbouring rooms coughing, talking, and walking around their rooms.
- No side lamps or atmospheric lighting.
- Basic selection of freeview channels - many channels missing.
- Fridge was almost empty.
- Nowhere near Hyde Park, like the name suggests, it's actually closer to Kensington Gardens.
- No view.
- No facilities.
- Many of the room facilities listed were not actually present in the room.
- Service was mediocre.
- Everything looked and felt a bit "manky". Even our keycard had dirty sticky residue from what was once presumably a sticker. All adds up to form a pretty poor image.

Good:
- Short walk from Bayswater station, Queensway, Bayswater Road, and Westbourne Grove.
- There is a lift.
- Cleaning was done daily.
- Road outside is not especially busy, and the area is generally pretty quiet and seemed safe enough.

Room Tip: If you absolutely must stay here, I would specifically request a larger, recently renovated top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel just one night. I expected a nice accommodation given the photos. The building was definitely renovated and rooms look nice, but the hallways had a funky smell, and the room was so small. I didnt feel comfortable in the area at night, travelling alone. I'm sure it was fine, but it wasnt the best area. During the day it was good for access to Bayswater tube station, and walking around was good.
The renovation looks nice, but little things like the tacky red floor mat in the bedroom - they looked dirty and well used. Same for the carpet in the hallway.

Room Tip: London is costly so its hard to find a place to stay at a decent price. read reviews. I felt led ast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrugalTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is really very good hotel at a very convenient location. It just joined Hilton family. Very clean hotel with good staff. Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Very close to queensway tube and many restaurants are in walking distance. Right opposite Kensington gardens. Lush green locality. Bustling Bayswater is about 300 meters.

Room Tip: Go for room facing Kensington Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milanbhise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for three nights at this lovely hotel last month. It is close to the tube and you can actually take the tube from the hotel to the airport with only one change. Great way to save cab fare! It is close to the beautiful Italian Fountains and Kensington Gardens. The rooms are nice and are remodeled. Loved it here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Looking for a hotel near Hyde Park I discovered this hotel - a Hilton Double Tree hotel

Quite a long way along the Bayswater Road but good for underground, buses and taxis.

Problem finding the entrance which is almost a side door off a side street

Once inside bright, clean and friendly. Efficient reception.

Single room quite adequate and breakfast was excellent with friendly and helpful staff

Recommended as a good hotel ina busy tourist area and quiet with all romms away from the main road

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#598 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#440 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#531 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#739 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#691 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London

Property: The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Address: 23-25 Leinster Square | Westminster, London W2 4NE, England (Formerly So Hyde Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #766 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London is a Victorian-era townhouse with modern guestrooms. Our locations borders some of the City's most attractive vicinities to explore, and with London's top attraction only moments away, this will be your ideal base to transport connections at your doorstep to it's easy to explore even further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel
Hyde Park London
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing