We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a perfect lebanese meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shishawi

Shishawi
Ranked #16,819 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television
Neighborhood: Marylebone
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a perfect lebanese meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The food is great, always. Been there many times but writing it down this time. Whilst the service is kind of flaky and you have to wave your hands to get them over, they are quick to take care of whatever you need. The food is excellent so I keep going back, plus there is a nice outdoor space to smoke a Shish pipe if that is of interest. The interior is a bit basic, but thats not really why you go there. You go for the food! And for the lively atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    14
    7
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK staff, poor quality food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Went in a group of 6, out of which 4 of us didn't eat most of our food as it was so bad. The baby chicken was very dry and did not have any seasoning, the lamb was a big let down and the pitta bread tasted like it was several days old. The only good thing was the falafel which was fresh and tasty, oh and the fruit juice - but at £4 a glass you'd expect it to be. Avoid this place until they sort out their food, unless you have no taste buds and more money than sense

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A below average restaurant which is worth a miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Average food, kebabs are nice but don't bother going for the curries or casserole dishes! The waiters are friendly but when you ask them to bring you something to the table, it never turns up and you see them having a conversation on their mobile phones :/ It took a long time to get someone to come over to take our order for tea/desserts and we needed to ask two people separately to get served! The restaurant looks nice but don't think it's worth the money and if it's cold outside, then it's pretty much the same temperature inside too so wear your coats!
Don't really recommend this place!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good service , okay food. sheesha service was rude!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We came here for a nice arabic themed meal.

We had three different mains and two starters.

the starters were good, mains were mediocre and our drink (fruit cocktail) was disappointing.

The service was great maybe because we speak Arabic!? or maybe because we were having tooo much fun that night.

We did want to order a sheesha, but the sheesha guy said that we have to order two sheeshas (we were only three) or pay 10 pounds each a minimum charge!! I usually don't mind having my own sheesha but we've had loads to eat and only wanted one. after 15 minutes of negotiations we managed to get one sheesha. but we shared our table with total strangers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk.leicester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gone down hill..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I came to this Restaurant seven years ago with my family and enjoyed the food and atmosphere so much, i just recently visited London and was looking forward to sitting with my family for a very nice meal but we was very dissapointed with the food. I feel Shishawi has gone downhill. I will go and have a shisha there but wont be going to eat again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank zulekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shishawi also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Shishawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing