We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful noodle place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hare & Tortoise

Hare & Tortoise
Ranked #1,677 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $43
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Singaporean, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful noodle place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

There are a lot of restaurants in and around the Brunswick Centre now and I reckon that a good proprtion of the bad reviews of this place are written by the managers of the others

I have been coming here on and off for a decade now when I'm in the area

Its always the same, huge platters of nice food for very little money

The service is fast rather than polished but I've never found it bad per se

Always packed often with a queue of students stretching out the door

Not the place to go if you want a quiet or highly sophistacted meal maybe

They do very acceptable chinese and japanese noodle dishes and if you want something else I think their sushi is pretty good for the money

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeverlandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    146
    28
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ok food, horribe services. Don't go unless necessary”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Working near Hare & Tortoise at bloomsbury. So go there sometimes for lunch can't find a table from other eating places. The food quality is just ok if you just want something for the lunch.

The service is terrible. The staff all look like someone just come out from funernal. No smile or eye contact. They don't even speak to you when taking order. They usually act like they don't bother you come or not. The only time you can see they talk or smile is when the staff is charting or gossiping with each other.

Keep away from it if you look for a place to chill out or enjoy a good meal. If you don't mind to have bad service and just want something for stomach, it could be a place to go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkSTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very very delicious.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the Bloomsbury restaurant today. The service was fast and the food was fresh and tasty. I had chicken chow mein and my partner had curry laska. We shared a portion of Panko Honey King Prawns. I couldn't fault it and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeacefulWarrior67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just can't get enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Visiting my boyfriend in London last summer, we managed to make our way to this lovely little place at least three times over a two-week periods! We couldn't get enough of the yummy sushi, ramen and katsu curries. When compared with similar places such as the likes of Wagamama etc., the Hare and Tortoise wins with the value with most of its dishes well under £10 and I would definitely say that the taste, as well as the portions at Hare and Tortoise are much better too. It's a shame my boyfriend no longer lives in Ealing, as we have yet to find a place similar to this elsewhere, and the big bowlfuls of Curry Laksa are really being missed! How about opening one up for us Aberdeen, Hare and Tortoise? :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RosesRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Swift Service, delicious food at very good prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Hare and Tortoise is my favourite place to eat when I'm in London.
The food is amazing, especially the chicken fried rice, along with Miso soup. It costs roughly £7 and is very generously portioned. This place is especially good if your in a rush as the food comes out very swiftly.

There are also some sushi options, as well as noodle dishes on the menu, all being at excellent prices.
The staff are usually very efficient and appear rushed off their feet, but will serve everyone in an organised fashion.

If your looking for a well priced hearty meal, take a trip to the Hare and Tortoise and I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare & Tortoise also viewed

 

Been to Hare & Tortoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing