We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland Bland Bland” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masala Zone Covent Garden

Masala Zone Covent Garden
Ranked #1,056 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $44
Cuisines: Healthy, Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Welcome to one of London’s leading Indian brasserie restaurants - there are 7 Masala Zone restaurants. Each Masala Zone is visually unique. We all serve real Indian food and cuisines, in contemporary yet exotic Indian popular art settings.We offer the varied delicious tastes and cuisines of India, from homes, wayside stalls and palaces (totally different from local curry houses) in a friendly brasserie environment.We and our legendary sister fine dining restaurants - Chutney Mary, Veeraswamy and Amaya - provide an unparalleled combination of real Indian cuisines, taste, integrity, hospitality and ambience
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bland Bland Bland”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Took my American Family here for a meal and boy wait disappointing. If you read the title of my review you will know I need not say anymore.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SquirmyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    842
    270
    108
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
viareggio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“nice service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I have been to this resturant with a group of friends. I took half size thalis, chicken, no spicy sauce (but it's still spicy). They explain the dishes and give you a nice service. Indian beer or juices. Average price for London, not expensive anyway. Dolls or puppets hanging on the ceiling

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fabriquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A really great curry and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Had their Grand Thali (pick a curry and the rest is done for you). Selected Lamb Vindaloo. Nicely spiced but not as hot as expected - I guess designed for the average palett. I came with side dishes of lentils, aubergene, raita and rice with nan bread, popadom and two chutneys - chilli mint and a sweet chutney. The chiili mint was sublime. My wife had the smaller Thali.
All washed down with a bottle of Chillean Merlot and with 12.5% service came to £51.
A very nice pre-theatre dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The portions are really small. Lentils & steam rice is must. Cheese Chilly naan is like Pizza..Ask them to make it more crispy..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank niel_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vindaloo value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Very tasty Indian food in a zesty interesting atmosphere at a very reasonable price. I for the grand thali lamb vindaloo. It was quite good. The yougurt side was very pleasant as was the eggplant and pea and beans. I didn't care for the potatoes and spinach. But that's just because I generally don't like potatoes. The chupati was very good but one isn't enough and I had to Order and extra as well as a side of garlic naan which was good but not as garlicky as I would like. The service was polite and timely. They checked in frequently and everyone was very pleasant. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Mchlpdnnlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Zone Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Masala Zone Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing