We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masala Zone Covent Garden

Masala Zone Covent Garden
Ranked #1,057 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $44
Cuisines: Healthy, Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Welcome to one of London’s leading Indian brasserie restaurants - there are 7 Masala Zone restaurants. Each Masala Zone is visually unique. We all serve real Indian food and cuisines, in contemporary yet exotic Indian popular art settings.We offer the varied delicious tastes and cuisines of India, from homes, wayside stalls and palaces (totally different from local curry houses) in a friendly brasserie environment.We and our legendary sister fine dining restaurants - Chutney Mary, Veeraswamy and Amaya - provide an unparalleled combination of real Indian cuisines, taste, integrity, hospitality and ambience
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good lunch experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Spontaneous choice for lunch. Was quite quiet at first but livened up slightly. We chose the Thali which was a small selection of dishes and a curry of your choice. Got to be honest but the Korma wasn't the best I've had, but the mixture of the different flavours was brilliant. There was friendly service and a very wide selection of choices of food and drink. I had the pear and apple juice which was nice and my friend had the spicy coke. Very reasonable prices for central london and would recommend others to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xxcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    841
    270
    108
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Casual Indian Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by some friends who had visit London previously. We found the restaurant buzzing when we got there and were a little concerned that it might be a slow wait. No such issue. We had a mixture of thalis, which were prepared quickly and were quite simply delicious. The atmosphere in the restaurant was terrific and it was very enjoyable watching some of the chefs at work.
A great recommendation from friends and one that we would happily pass on.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BTMercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
674 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“A good reasonable Indian meal in the heart of London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

No need to book on a week day lunch time, very large dinning area so no problem getting a table! We chose the Grand Thali which consisted of selection of small dishes. They were: lentil dish, potato dish, aubergine and peas dish, yoghurt, a papadum, a paratha, an onion baji, salad, chutney, rice and a dish of lamb rogan josh. It was well presented and enjoyable with a variety of good flavours. The lamb was a bit mean with only 5 cubes in the sauce but otherwise at about £13.50, it was well worth it.
The restaurant is well situated in Covent Garden, not far from the tube. We love the huge display of dolls hanging from the ceiling.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Glad we booked as this is always a buzzing restaurant especially on a Friday night. Bypassed the queue as we had a reservation. It's the first time we've brought our 12 year old son here. He loves curry so knew he would love a thali. Great value and always have great tasting food. My husband and Son said their prawns were lovely, not overcooked. I always enjoy the chilli paneer. Thank you Masala Zone!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soraya37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
395 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Visited here with a couple of friends, service was very good and food was plentiful and tasted great. Thoroughly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottiehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Zone Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Masala Zone Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing