We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY RETREAT FROM THE HUSTLE AND BUSTLE”

Richoux - Piccadilly
Ranked #4,857 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Price range: $50 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“LOVELY RETREAT FROM THE HUSTLE AND BUSTLE”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Came across this restaurant whilst Christmas Shopping. Reasonably priced - small but diverse menu of English dishes with a smattering of continental ones - quite and calm ambience - with attentive and unobtrusive staff.
We will certainly patronise again when visiting London.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    187
    90
    54
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere in the heart of Piccadilly”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This long narrow restaurant has a rich low level lighting atmosphere, lit as it is by chandeliers. There is an abundance of wood panelling and heavy wallpaper walls with pictures hung throughout. This patisserie/restaurant is a superb spot to stop for a quick bite to eat, be it lasagne, welsh rarebit or a patisserie. The menu is very large and varied with "old-school favourites" as the Guardian describes it. We have previously enjoyed their eggs benedict which is a speciality. You can have their classic Richoux club sandwich whilst there is a huge selection of cakes. Drinks can be tea, coffee, wine (by the glass or bottle) and beer.

This is not a place to take your wife or girlfriend for a great meal out but it is a very atmospheric spot to take a break from shopping in nearby Burlington Parade, Piccadilly or New Bond Street or pop in after visiting a RA exhibition across the road or before a theatre performance. It is quiet reasonably priced given its location (don't mention the cost of tea at Fortnum & Masons a few doors away)

Altogether a good experience miles away in atmosphere from the average and frankly uniformly boring Starbucks or Pret-a-manger.

Do not be put off by having to wait to be sat at a table by a waiter as it does allow you a moment or two to unwind before you sit for a meal and avoids bustling jostling crowds disturbing you whilst you eat. The service is efficient and polite if busy due to the large number of people they have to deal during the day in this popular venue. Enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice treat”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Needing a break from our shopping, we happened upon Richoux, which offered the range of beautiful patisseries and coffee we had in mind. It's a busy, touristy place and the service could be better, but on the whole we thought it was good value for London waiter service. The cakes were beautiful and the coffee was good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCjC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Pretty restaurant for tea after the Royal Academy”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is quite a nice place for afternoon tea after a session at the Royal Academy but to be honest tea in the Academy itself costs a lot less - Richoux has a pretty appearance and some great looking cakes but service can be slow and as it caters largely for tourists - very little attempt is made towards a long term relationship!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank penny_howard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely rude waiter and poor service. Avoid.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Awful. We were waiting in line and the waiter, Vito, kept seating people behind us in the queue first. When I confronted him about this, he was very rude. We left. Thank you for ruining our day. I will not be returning to this horrible restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richoux - Piccadilly also viewed

 

Been to Richoux - Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing