We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kensington Suite Hotel
Ranked #979 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel very last minute for a two night stay in London. It was a five minute walk from the tube station, which was great. Our double room was very small, the double bed seemed to fill most of the room. We had a room which was down in the basement, so our view from the window wasn't great. The bathroom was very small but had a powerful and warm shower, which always makes me happy.
You really do get what you pay for, but it was clean. We got fresh towels and a room cleaned daily. The maids were nice, as were the people on reception.
We never got up early enough to see what breakfast was like though!
For us it was just a base for the night, and for somewhere to be clean is brilliant.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wally1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    65
    99
    79
    158
See reviews for
66
130
38
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I can't really criticize, because we wanted something inexpensive, and this was £230 for three nights, a steal in London. However, to me it wasn't much above hostel accommodations, between the small rooms, tiny bathrooms, and spartan included breakfast. Specifically, our radiator was stuck full on (someone had broken the control right off, probably in a desperate attempt to get cool!), so we had the window full open for three days! The shower leaked all over the tiny bathroom floor too. However, the off-street facing room was quiet, and the beds, though small, were comfortable. Breakfast was in a cramped room, coffee, boiled eggs, cereal and toast. OK...but the table wouldn't let you put your legs under it, so we ate "side-saddle." Convenient to Shepherd's Bush tube, and the staff was quite friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face busy Holland Road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papertec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you get a good last minute rate on this hotel (around £40-£60) you can't really complain. The hotel is a five minute walk from the underground, there's 24 hour reception, you will feel safe and you'll sleep OK. And those are the most important things you want from a hotel. BUT.... I have stayed in other hotels in this price range which have offered far more and that's why the Kensington Suite is disappointing.

For a start the word "Suite" is not entirely correct: my double room was a box room which was filled by the double bed. You could only just walk round it to get to the very small shower room. The website claims the rooms are "spacious and furnished to a high standard" : not true! Apart from the bed there was one wardrobe (which blocked one of the windows so you couldn't properly draw the curtain and daylight shone in from above) and that was just about it. No desk for working at, no chair for sitting on and the walls were in need of a fresh coat of paint. The "ensuite kitchenette" was a sink, microwave and fridge all tucked away inside a cupboard. Yes there was a modern flatscreen TV but it only got four foreign channels in dodgy black and white (other guests told me their TV was fine) and the WIFI was hit and miss.

Breakfast was an embarrasment: concentrated fruit juice, a little bit of cereal and piles of bread which you had to queue to toast. And the berakfast room was quite small so you had to share tables.

If you need somewhere to crash at the end of a busy day it's fine. but I can't help refelecting that if I'd been to a Travellodge or Premier Inn or one of the other discount hotels on the internet I'd have probably had a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank politicsandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I weren't sure what to expect after reading many reviews on here. But the majority of them are harsh. If your expecting the ritz, your in the wrong place. But if you just want a moderate room as a place to sleep... This hotel is fine.
Very close to Shepard's bush station, room was clean, bed was clean, fresh towels daily and bathroom was clean. Was ideal to just shower and rest before heading into central London.
The breakfast room is very small (there are 40 rooms but only about 8 tables) and there were a few odd points with the room (picture on wall was slanted, one floor board was wonky/creeky, couldn't close the window fully) but overall I would rate the hotel and experience as a 3/5. No complaints and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was so worried after reading the reviews here, that I was really thinking to cancel our reservation. After all I tried to give it a chance.
Well, it's not bad at all. In fact we expected it to be much worse! The hotel is located very close to 2 tube stations, there is a bus stop just in front of it, thus making the hotel very easily accessible.
We were 5 people accommodated in 2 rooms - one double and one triple. The double was pretty nice. The triple was just the same size as the double, so it was quite small for three people, but if you go back to the hotel just to sleep and rest, it's OK. Both rooms were facing the backyard, so it was quiet and calm, we could even see squirrels on the trees!
They changed the towels and cleaned the rooms every day, so it wasn't dirty at all. The heating was on all night and honestly, it was really warm, even hot, I could say!
Yes, the building is old. And yes, the rooms look a bit shabby. The breakfast was the same every day (many people brought their own food to supplement the poor menu), but I think this hotel is a good budget decision.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandrina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Close proximity to Shepherds Bush tube station and not far from Earls Court. It's quit a decent hotel if you're just there to sleep and not too fussy about you're accomodation. Wee breakfast area and sometimes you're in the qeue for breakfast. Overall not a bad place for a weekend.

Room Tip: A bit of a climb if you're all the way up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillemN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Chose this hotel as it was relatively cheap and central for London. However it has to be one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The room was straight out of DIY Rescue, with large gaps in the wall paper; a crooked wall mounted TV; and a bathroom light that could not be switched off. The window was draughty; the shower was tiny; and on my first day I could only get luke-warm water.
I found the owner unpleasant - on my last night he berated me for not leaving my key at reception, despite there being no notice that this was required. Given the shoddy nature of his establishment, a bit more politeness would not go amiss.
Had breakfast one morning - pretty basic, nothing special.
All in all, it was relatively cheap for a reason. It might suit a stag party looking for cheap lodging in a reasonable location, and who needn't worry about trashing the rooms as it would only be an improvement....

Room Tip: Tip for choosing a good room: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#735 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Hotel 65
#782 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#718 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#841 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#764 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Pembury Hotel
#881 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Suite Hotel

Property: Kensington Suite Hotel
Address: 128 Holland Road, London W14 8BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #979 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kensington Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
Hotel Kensington Suite
Kensington Suite London
Kensington Suite Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing