We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Location is Important” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celtic Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Celtic Hotel
Ranked #49 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Central Location is Important”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Celtic Hotel is very spartan, but it is located right at Russell Square and right next to a tube station. Our room was very small and the toilet could not be used with the door closed. But the breakfast was great, the staff was very helpful, and the price for the location was reasonable. There is a quality pub right around the corner, and other decent restaurants are nearby because of the proximity of the university and the British Museum.

We are adventuresome and are used to unusual accommodations when traveling in Europe. The Celtic Hotel is what it is...a reasonable hotel in a central location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vic051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    136
    38
    8
    1
See reviews for
82
80
49
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at the Celtic two times in April and May 2012, both times with my family. I had previously stayed here when it was the St. Margaret's hotel, located a couple blocks away, and my memory of it was favourable enough that I was happy to book at their new location. The Celtic won't please you if you are looking for an upscale hotel, but if you're looking for a smaller, friendly, B&B hotel, the Celtic is quite nice. Breakfast is included in the price and the food is quite good. The dining room isn't big though, so our group of 5 was asked when we would be eating breakfast each morning so they could set aside a table for us. I found both the desk staff and dining room staff to be very helpful and friendly. I would recommend the Celtic and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so ask for a lower room if you have issues with stairs. The staff will gladly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at the Celtic Hotel twice in 2012 - in March for two nights with my daughter in a double room with facilities, and in October for four nights with my daughter and husband in a triple room with facilities. We were very comfortable there, and would gladly stay again the next time we're in London. The location is great, in a beautiful part of town and close to attractions or a quick bus ride away. Excellent and abundant breakfast. The staff is helpful and nice. The problem I could mention was with the in-room shower both times: in March the temperature was fine but the stream was a bit weak, while in October the strength of the shower was fine but it was difficult to find the right temperature, and it varied from day to day - one day I had to take an almost scalding shower because I couldn't get it cooler. But this is a minor complaint and doesn't take away from our enjoyment of our stay at the Celtic Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielaAvitabile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I were in London this past weekend, we spent 2 nights at the Celtic Hotel and were definitely positively impressed! The staff is wonderful, everyone is extremely kind. We found that our room, as well as the common areas, were very clean, comfortable and exquisitely traditional. Breakfast was good, and again, staff there was very pleasant and efficient.
The Celtic Hotel is perfectly located: right behind Russell Square tube station (1min. walk), or 8-10 min. walk to Oxford Street, so it's central and well connected.
Only small downside is the weak WiFi connection, but since there is a cozy lounge area downstairs, it was no problem at all to check emails, look up places to visit and chat with friends & family back home.
We think this hotel is great value for money, much better than the standard, actually. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalianBird_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Celtic is basic with thread bare carpet on stairs. The room was clean, white wood chip walls some use of MDF to create wardrobe space. The shower is an after thought and I found the toilet hidden behind a sliding mirrored cupboard door. The toilet was so small I could not use with door closed.

On the plus side it is an excellent location and as others have described the breakfast staff are pleasant and efficient.

I guess you get what you pay for but would not say particularly good value for money - I will not be returning.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hexaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic experience at Celtic during the Olympics. We were a group of 9 people. Extremely pleasant (we did too many changes in the booking and always received kind words and efficient response); very clean rooms and baths (especially shared bathrooms); nice breakfast...Besides, location is fantastic (5 min walking to British Museum, 2 metro stations) and prices very affordable. Rosanna and her team makes you feel really at home!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pulcroyaseado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

First of all let me say that Roseanna and the rest of the staff are so nice and attentive. The servers at breakfast work very hard and get your food out very quickly. Roseanna always asks about your day with a smile on her face and gives you any advice you request. The rooms are cleaned every day, the soap is always replaced and the beds are always made. That being said... the place could use some work. If the staff wasn't so nice, this would easily get 1-2 stars. I am from America so I know I'm biased, and this just may be how all budget hotels are in Europe. If this were in America, I would give it 0 stars and call the health inspector, but... when in London, I guess! The bathroom and shower smell pretty gross. The sheets feel clean and fresh but I wouldn't dare look at the mattress. The curtains and tablecloth are gross. I broke out in a rash all over my body from using the hotel soap (rookie mistake I guess). They definitely do the best they can with what they have, and I assume this is just a symptom of the hotel being in a very old building in Europe. I'm under the impression that this is just how most hotels are here. It's not that I wouldn't stay here again, but it definitely skeeves me out a good amount, and I wouldn't really look forward to coming back.. but I'm not really sure there's much better out there in the same price range (which is very expensive in USD btw!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Principal London
The Principal London
#433 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#101 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thanet Hotel
Thanet Hotel
#470 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#98 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#310 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Hotel

Property: Celtic Hotel
Address: 61-63 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Celtic Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing