We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth the wait!”
Review of Barrafina

Barrafina
Ranked #164 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Barrafina is an authentic Spanish tapas bar located in London's Soho. It serves a traditional but contemporary, regional a la carte menu and there is a daily blackboard of specials, created by Executive Head Chef, Barragan Mohacho. Barrafina operates a first come first serve queuing system, and does not take reservations for their 23 stools. However, part of the fun of dining there is eating little bites and sipping on something delicious while making the line. The kitchen is open and guests are close to all the action and drama while their food is prepared.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the wait!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Tried a few times to go here, but always put off by the long queue that snakes around the bar.

Decided to stick it out this time, and my only regret is not having eaten here sooner!

The restaurant is fairly small with the only seating being around the tapas bar that surrounds the chefs, with no other separate tables. Buzzing atmosphere and throroughly enjoyed the counter top dining

The food is fantastic - had the prawn tortilla which was made fresh and hot, the meat board where each meat stood out in its own right, ham croquetas that were lovely and creamy inside, along with a few other dishes. The standout dish was octopus and capers - a must try

Great service with a smile, with the chefs even helping pour our wine throughout the meal, even though they were insanely busy.

Clearly with the counter top tapas bar setting, it probably doesn't suit bigger groups than 2 or 3, but the food makes this restaurant a must. Its not particularly cheap (£80 including wine for 2 of us), but certainly worth every penny.

To summarise, Barrafina is the best tapas restaurant I've ever been to hands down.

p.s. Would also recommend Tapas Brindisa (at Soho or London Bridge), which is slightly cheaper and has actual dining tables - but still very good food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    299
    79
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect as always”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous tapas, have been a few times and it is always good.
The lady that saw us in was very nice.
Food was great, courgette flower is amazing!
Cava and wine are good prices. Can't wait to go back again

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank granthannahbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas in cool 50-s style counter”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This place was so good! Was recommended and we went on a monday night but was still busy. Waited at the side bar area for 15 minutes until a stool was open and starting drinking and eating some appetizers there. Reminded me of an American 50-s style counter but more high class. The people that work there are all from Spain and are really nice and good at their job. Have some strange things on the menu, but I was still very haopy with everything we choose. Have things such as lamb's brain and the biggest crawdad I have ever seen. You have to try the chorizo and the crema catalana. It was amazing! The prices are about right on the dot for the area and tapas, but of course after a bottle of wine and 5 tapas it does add up!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOBSTERStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great atmosphere with quality food”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went there at 18.15pm on a Sunday night. The restaurant was filled up already and with people queuing inside as well. We ordered the scallops while queuing, I wouldn't say it tasted spectacular. After 50 minutes, we were able to sit down. We ordered most of our food on the special menu (those written on the chalk board) since they seems fresher. All the food are divine, clams are very fresh (still can taste the saltiness from the sea); tortilla taste way better than those I had in Spain seriously; pig cheek was cooked very well. My favourite is the wine pear we had for dessert, surprisingly. On the first bite, it feels like the wine is too much, but then you'll like it more and more every bites u had. It's the best!
The bill came at almost £100, I was a bit shock. I would recommend order less since it added up to be quite expensive. If you are going, the wine pear is a must!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yanice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent tapas , lively atmosphere”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Small restaurant with stools only no tables .Waited about 45 minutes to sit down . Had a drink at stand up bar . Limited food menu to get you started
before you sit down . Everything we had was great . We had stone bass special , ham croquettes , chips with bravo sauce, chicken thigh with romesco sauce . It is not gourmet but everything was tasty and freshly prepared . Dishes were delivered quickly . Service was friendly and focused for a very busy place with limited space .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ezzie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrafina also viewed

 

Been to Barrafina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing