We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal”
Review of Barrafina

Barrafina
Ranked #161 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Barrafina is an authentic Spanish tapas bar located in London's Soho. It serves a traditional but contemporary, regional a la carte menu and there is a daily blackboard of specials, created by Executive Head Chef, Barragan Mohacho. Barrafina operates a first come first serve queuing system, and does not take reservations for their 23 stools. However, part of the fun of dining there is eating little bites and sipping on something delicious while making the line. The kitchen is open and guests are close to all the action and drama while their food is prepared.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The restaurant opens at 5pm. We arrived at 5.15 on a Friday evening and there were already 3 groups waiting for a table before us. My wife was not happy (with me) after we were told to wait for about an hour. I wasn't too hungry so actually didn't mind! I also didn't expect the wait to be a full hour. However, people sitting at the tools really took their time finishing (why not, we eventually did the same) so we waited an hour afterall. Went mostly for seafood options this time. Wonderful. Really good food, enthusiastic service and great atmosphere. Totally worth the wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,064
    302
    79
    30
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place...amazing food every time”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is close to my favourite place to eat in the whole of London. The food is amazing, along with the atmosphere. The courgette flowers are a personal favourite, if you like goats cheese its a definite must. Every course i've ever eaten here has been cooked to perfection and love watching the chefs in action. If you haven't tried this place the wait is always worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DHD_Ltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here on numerous occasions and the food is always outstanding. Great ambience, great service, great food. I'll always stop here for a bite to eat if I'm passing. If you don't arrive when it opens, be prepared to wait around 45mins for a seat but you can drink and order nibbles while you wait!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudithChalmersblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The restaurant is quite small and there are no tables. Just sit and eat tapas.
The food is very impressive. We ordered a couple dishes and the ones most surprising were the octopus (for its tenderness) and the tuna tartare (for the amazing taste!).
Staff is absolutely welcoming and willing to give you the experience of eating Spanish style.
Worth a meal!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredsimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Notas good as last time”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The first time we visited Barrafina we said that it was on of the best reastaurants that we had been to in the past year and reviewed it as such on TA. Hence to say the next time we visted London we made it a must for dinner. However i'm sad to say that we didn't enjoy the food anywhere near as much. Don't get me wrong there were dishes that we really enjoyed, particlarility the clams. But we found overall that the food was over seasoned with salt (and i tend to prefer quite a lot of salt), there also seemed to be a taste of paprika that hadn't been cooked out at all and resulted in alot of the dished having a bitter after taste.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrafina also viewed

 
 

Been to Barrafina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing