We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing tapas!”
Review of Barrafina

Barrafina
Ranked #162 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Barrafina is an authentic Spanish tapas bar located in London's Soho. It serves a traditional but contemporary, regional a la carte menu and there is a daily blackboard of specials, created by Executive Head Chef, Barragan Mohacho. Barrafina operates a first come first serve queuing system, and does not take reservations for their 23 stools. However, part of the fun of dining there is eating little bites and sipping on something delicious while making the line. The kitchen is open and guests are close to all the action and drama while their food is prepared.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went with my parents just last week, and had an amazing meal. We loved most of the specials that were available that day - the squid with squid ink was phenomenal, as was the gambas, iberico pork with potato confit, razor clams and the crispy chicken thigh. Service was great, and our glasses were always topped up promptly. I would return to London just for this!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank huesofgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    299
    79
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maybe not quite life changing but stunning way to spend sunday lunch!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Been wanting to go here for ages but because of the booking policy (no booking and only 18 seats) hadn't braved it with time away from 2 kids at a premium. Anyway they have recently opened for sunday lunch. Got there at 12.30 for 1pm opening was 7th and 8th in the queue.

Had pigs ears, razor clams (stunning), chiperones, fried baby asparagus, jamon and spinach tortilla (beautifully runny in the middle), caribinero (sp?) langoustine and lots of other bits and pieces. Couple of glasses of sherry and white wine.
We raced through the first few plates and then life just slowed down! Must have been the wine! Fab atmosphere on a sunday, lots of people discussing with strangers what they were having and then ordering it....tapas is so civilized! Not cheap but the quality and attention to detail was out of this world. If only there were more like this (ie. small restaurants with no reservations) people wouldn't be so annoyed by the concept.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank accountant75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“flippin' amazing, i love barrafina”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

this place is so good, definitely deserves it's place in the rankings. best tapas I've ever eaten and that includes everywhere I went in Barcelona. The only downside is that it's so small and you can't book. Unless you're happy to wait for a while you have to turn up either early or late to get a table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank affogatoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglaston, New York
Level Contributor
223 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing explosions of flavors”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a delicious restaurant! We were lucky our wait was only 20 minutes (we were warned in advance to go early). Of course one had tuna tartare before, but Barrafina's was super delicious.
Every dish was superb and we tried a lot of them. The only uncomfortable part was that people were right behind you (on line, narrow aisle) while eating and sometimes you get bumped, but for the food, you can sacrifice. A little expensive but will go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noodlequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love everything about Barrafina”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Barrafina twice in the last month. We stumbled over it as a couple prior to going to the Borderline club one evening and thought we would give it a try. We had arrived at 5.30pm, it was already busy but we managed to get two seats at the bar. There are only just over twenty places; within a few minutes the place was packed, with people waiting for seats. We soon realised that this is the norm; when the food arrived we realised why.

The food is fantastic; great ingredients, delicious flavours and imaginative recepies, all cooked in front of you and served as they are ready. The staff are really friendly and helpful and go out of their way to explain enything on the menu that is unclear. The atmosphere is really good.

We went back on a Sunday evening a couple of weeks later with our family. This time, we queued from 5.15pm and only just got in when it opened. Again, the staff were fantastic, and the food was just as delicious. There were a few different specials on the menu. The tuna tartare and the stuffed courgette flower are particular favourites but everything we had was fantastic; this tapas bar fully deserves its reputation and I really don't know why we have missed it up to now.

A definite tip though; go early, really early, if you want to avoid having to queue (although it is possible to stand and have drinks while waiting) and choose a less busy time of the week. But if you like great tapas, go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DQ34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrafina also viewed

 

Been to Barrafina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing