We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food”
Review of Barrafina

Barrafina
Ranked #165 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Barrafina is an authentic Spanish tapas bar located in London's Soho. It serves a traditional but contemporary, regional a la carte menu and there is a daily blackboard of specials, created by Executive Head Chef, Barragan Mohacho. Barrafina operates a first come first serve queuing system, and does not take reservations for their 23 stools. However, part of the fun of dining there is eating little bites and sipping on something delicious while making the line. The kitchen is open and guests are close to all the action and drama while their food is prepared.
Bray County Wicklow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Spanish tapas bar serving excellent food, cooked right in front of you,most of the staff are Spanish which adds to the drama , it can get very busy so you will need to get there before the crowds whether it is lunch or early dinner
Would highly recommend Barrafina

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohneM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,047
    299
    79
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wow well worth the wait”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Arriving early at six pm on Saturday night we were already prepared for the wait of just over an hour. Don't be put off though, once through the door you can have drinks and snacks and have your appetite sharpened while you experience the delicious tapas aroma. The lamb is fabulous and tortilla too. We had the sprats, pork, tomato breads,croquettes and a chorizo dish all were lovely.Recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Trendy lunch spot”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This cool little tapas bar is right next door to our daughters workplace, lucky her.We were lucky & got a seat immediately on walking in. My husband , daughter & I thoroughly enjoyed every morsel of food. Great watching everything prepared in front of you. Nice wine, beautiful bread, olive oil to die for. Loved it so much I bought the cookbook signed personally by the author..would go back if I didn't live in Australia...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gnilwod19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Spanish food..but pricey”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Loved the food. Simply awesome!! and the 5Js...Very pricey though. A light meal put us back by 120 pounds! Will definitely go there again.
They donot accept reservations and I had to queue for 1 full hour to get a seat! But it was definitely worth it!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Praveen1Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Step into Spain for a night”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great authentic tapas bar, where you feel like you've stepped into a Mediterranean environment from the minute you walk in. Beautiful jamon, classic albondigas, the freshest sea food, and all prepared in front of you.

Don't be deterred when you have to wait for a while; just order a bottle of wine and watch the buzzing activity a few meters away!

Last time I was there, I spent about 100gbp for a long and great dinner for two, including drinks. Worth it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocket X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrafina also viewed

 

Been to Barrafina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing