We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite restaurant in London”
Review of Barrafina

Barrafina
Ranked #163 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Barrafina is an authentic Spanish tapas bar located in London's Soho. It serves a traditional but contemporary, regional a la carte menu and there is a daily blackboard of specials, created by Executive Head Chef, Barragan Mohacho. Barrafina operates a first come first serve queuing system, and does not take reservations for their 23 stools. However, part of the fun of dining there is eating little bites and sipping on something delicious while making the line. The kitchen is open and guests are close to all the action and drama while their food is prepared.
2 reviews
“My favourite restaurant in London”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Fresh top quality ingredients, excellent staff and a great atmosphere. Eating here is always a pleasure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gailio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,050
    299
    79
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood and other tapas”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Well, if I lived in London I would probably be here at least weekly. As it is, it's the usual stop on our trips several times a year. Get here early if you don't want to queue, but don't let the queue stop you... just enjoy the crowd with some wine and a few of the para picar items. Great tapas esp seafood and specials including the suckling pig when available. Cost can be quite high,or fairly reasonable depending on what you order.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P-Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Does not get better than Barrafina”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

It may take 45 minutes to get a table but there is good reason. Get in line, order a drink, some Padron peppers, chorizo wrapped in crispy potato and relax. You have just started on the best Tapas experience in London. You will walk away at the end with 5 happy and fulfilled senses ;-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Have reviewed Barragina before but sometimes good to repeat a review. Well having recently returned from Paris Barrafina was facing stiff competition. However, I must say it easily beat the competition ( somewhat more easily than England just beat Sweden at football ). We had suckling pig which was really fantastic. I think it's a really special place, if I try to deliberately find fault I would just say that if you have a fair number of courses it's not cheap - in fact rather expensive - but as they say you get what you pay for and in this case it's worth the cost.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carodiario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Have been going to this tapas bar since it opened and never get tired of eating wonderfully tasty food sitting at the counter on their surprisingly comfy bar stools. It is not the cheapest meal in town for sure but you get what you pay for, don't you - the produce they use is always top quality and as fresh as it can be so it's justified as far as I'm concerned. You have to queue up before opening time to get a seat as there are only 20-odd bar stools and woe betide you if you try to skip the queue! :) If you haven't tried it then you should, even for a one-off treat. But I guarantee you'll go back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrafina also viewed

 

Been to Barrafina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing