We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite uk restaurant”
Review of Barrafina

Barrafina
Ranked #162 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Barrafina is an authentic Spanish tapas bar located in London's Soho. It serves a traditional but contemporary, regional a la carte menu and there is a daily blackboard of specials, created by Executive Head Chef, Barragan Mohacho. Barrafina operates a first come first serve queuing system, and does not take reservations for their 23 stools. However, part of the fun of dining there is eating little bites and sipping on something delicious while making the line. The kitchen is open and guests are close to all the action and drama while their food is prepared.
oxford uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My favourite uk restaurant”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I have been going to Barrafina about every four months for the last three years. I love the food. It is genuinely delicious. Watching the food cooked on the hot plate makes one wonder why other restaurants could not emulate them. The staff are great.
It's best to go there early and to go for the food. It's a tapas bar and seating is the bar on stools. So it's not suitable for an intimate dinner and at times it's a bit of a crush. And of course if you don't like tapas this is not the place for you. I think I have eaten at most of the best restaurants in the UK and as I say this is simply the most delicious.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carodiario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    299
    79
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A fab place that we found on trip advisor”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I along with four friends fancied tapas in London and this is where we landed. The food was cooked right there in front of you, lots of variety and great tasting. You sit at the bar and eat so not a restaurant with tables. If you are looking for something a little different and like eating tapas style, give this a go. The only downside was one member of staff (female blond hair) who didn't seem impressed us turning up at 21.55 hrs and proceeded to inform us immediately we had 4 minutes to order in very abrupt manner, she never smiled once. (Shame) All the other staff and chefs were fab though.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staffsfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Bit rushed but great ambiance and service”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I had to visit this venue having read all the great reviews. I was slightly disappointed , the food was good no denying but not fantastic. The service was very friendly and the wine choice very good. The only trouble is that because it is so popular there is always a queue and you constantly felt that they wanted you to hurry up and move on to the next cover. In Spain when i eat Tapes I love the unhurried experience where time does not matter but this was not the case here. Worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonny97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best tapas in UK !”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

...just go and try out...
Amazing produce , friendly and smooth service . So tasty!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jezoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I went after work on a Friday night for some dinner and a bottle of wine. It was a great experience, the waiters and chefs were really friendly, and already can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrafina also viewed

 

Been to Barrafina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing