We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little treasure”

Bonnington Centre Cafe
Ranked #3,384 of 22,692 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Colchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Little treasure”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Bonnington Cafe is well worth a visit for either coffee or a meal. I dined here for the first time on a recommendation and just wish that I lived closer, as I would eat here all the time. My companion and I both had a delicious goats cheese and spinach lasagne for mains. This was accompanied by a mixed salad with a delicious dill dressing and I followed with vegan chocolate cake, whilst my friend had a creamy dessert with fresh berries. At £9 each for 2 great courses and a cup of herbal tea (they have a very good selection) this was a steal. We were offered a vegan starter, and a choice of vegetarian or vegan main courses and desserts - so this is the best of both worlds. It is also a lovely place to sit inside or out and while away a few relaxing hours. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    55
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a serendipitous find...”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My partner and I were staying in Westminster and she searching her iPhone for a vegetarian restaurant. To our luck, the bloke sharing the elevator with us noticed what she was doing and told us about Bonnington Cafe, just a 20 min walk from where we were staying. With an intimate, eclectic atmosphere, great prices and a different chef every night, this cafe meets all the needs of the London hipster and folks like us who appreciate great vegetarian food!! FYI - It's BYOB but there is a very sweet corner market across the street where you can pick up your wine or beer and make a reservation if arriving after 8pm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quirky vegans...”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

An old squat, claimed under squatters' rights - didn't think this was going to be my kind of place... but really good food and fun atmosphere! Despite it being a vegetarian & vegan restaurant.

I went on a Friday with a bunch of friends - check out which cook you have on the night you go. Mexican bean burrito and vegetable soup were great and excellent value at £11 a head. Don't forget - its BYO, so provision yourself accordingly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“it's like going back to 1995 in a good way”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

good food, it reminds me one of those places camden town used to have in the 90s.
they even play old Belle and Sebastian.
what else you want?
and the food is good

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brunoc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Co-Op Restaurant”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Been here a few times now and loved it every time. Different chefs every night, most do the same night every week and some do one or two a month but all vegetarian/vegan.Check out the website for info on who`s in the kitchen.

Really nice rooms in the ground floor of a former squat house, very cosy and friendly. Short walk from Vauxhall tube, nothing much else in the area around it.

Its BYOB and the food is very reasonably priced. Check website for chefs mobile number to make reservation. Def recommend....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonnington Centre Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bonnington Centre Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing