We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just beautiful!”
Review of Bam-Bou Restaurant - CLOSED

Bam-Bou Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Description: Set in a striking Georgian townhouse in the heart of London���s Fitzrovia, Bam-Bou Vietnamese restaurant is always buzzing with a mix of local media types and West End foodies. Furnished throughout in a French-Vietnamese colonial style, Bam-Bou is divided into two handsome dining rooms, four private rooms and a top-floor bar serving exquisite cocktails and Eastern teas and infusions. The menu showcases the best of southeast Asian cuisine, with authentic recipes and ingredients sourced from Thailand, China and Vietnam. You can feast on familiar favourites like green chicken curry, but we recommend the Hanoi-style short ribs and the seared scallops with sweet pork and perilla cress. With its flawless service and unique decor, Bam-Bou is an elegant restaurant that is perfect for low-key lunches and cosy dinner dates. As it���s minutes from Soho, Bloomsbury and Oxford Street, Bam-Bou���s location couldn���t be bettered.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had lunch here and it was gorgeous! Great food, great menu, great service! Definitely share as much as possibly as food here is amazing. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    108
    43
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great food and service ! Chilli lime squid was really tasty and the peppered fillet steak dish and scallops and pork was amazing ! Good wine and atmosphere and a few cheeky cocktails in the bar upstairs after dinner was very nice too. We would definitely go back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarea81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
503 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Very Relaxed Service”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had a very enjoyable meal at Bam-Bou. First - I love the neighborhood; loads of restaurants, cafes, pubs - very happening part of town. Bam-Bou has a real nice feel. good vibe, not too noisy and it has a fun and creative menu. All of the dishes we tried were tasty, fresh and beautifully presented. The wine list was adequate and the special drinks were fun as well. I would say the service was pretty slow. Took forever to get our cocktails, and the waiter came back to take our dinner order before the drinks came. If you give me something to eat or drink, I will be happy with a little wait, but get me the cocktails! I made the reservation on Open Table which I like - it was efficient. Also - I mentioned in Open Table that one of our party had a nut alergy and he was blown away when the hostess came by with a special "nut-free" menu. Well done.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yecats59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bam-Bou I love you!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I work just around the corner from this place and it's perfect for taking out clients. The food is great and the staff are very attentive. They will walwyas make the effort to accomodate, even last minute large bookings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WestLondonFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food heaven for me”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location very central. Charming building over numerous floors, colonial feel. Cocktail bar on the top floor which was nice to relax before our meal and they served some unusual, not run of the mill cocktails. Every course was really tasty and the curry had lots of flavour, it was nice that you got your own bowl of chillies to make it as spicy as you liked. Good wine and fabulous petit fours. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Lovely evening had by all. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bam-Bou Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing