We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Tapas dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pirata of Mayfair

El Pirata of Mayfair
Ranked #593 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $65
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Critically acclaimed Spanish tapas restaurant El Pirata opened its doors in 1994. Tucked away in the corner of Mayfair next to Hyde Park, El Pirata has become a firm favourite for those wanting an authentic Spanish experience. Relax at the superb mirrored bar with a drink or two whilst enjoying the atmosphere of the Spanish influenced decor. Whether upstairs or downstairs, you can enjoy the Tapas menu where each dish is individually priced, or if you’re not too familiar with Tapas, choose from our two fantastic set menus. At lunchtimes enjoy our special lunch menu which offers great value; two tapas dishes, a bread roll and alioli plus a soft drink or a glass of wine for just £10.25 – great value! Downstairs is ideal for parties and gatherings of up to 60 people. If you prefer a private area for either that important business dinner or a more romantic setting for that more intimate meal, you will find our two private alcoves perfect. When the weather’s at its best, our four outside tables are an instant hit, but you’ll have to be early because they are snapped up fast!
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quick Tapas dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Very nice, authentic food. We sat at the bar and the barkeeper did a great job to entertain and engage guest. Good wine menu, great Tapas selection, overall good value for money, although prices are at the higher end. We will be back next time we are in London

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maty1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    228
    60
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dragged back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Over the years, used El Pirata to grab a quick meal early in the evening en route elsewhere and before the crowds gathered. November 2011 took a US girlfriend there for dinner and spent the evening in the buzzing upstairs bar sampling a succession of delicious authentic tapas. The next best thing to being in Spain. No choice in 2012, told I was to taking my new fiancee to El Pirata on our first night in town! Great food, great service, great atmosphere, friendly staff, and despite a comment elsewhere, quite conducive to an intimate evening for two - everyone is so enjoying themselves that no-one can hear a word said!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“A genuine and delightful Spanish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

With the rash of phoney, English-owned “Tapas Bars” which have sprung up all over the country in recent years, it is a joy to eat at a genuine Spanish restaurant with genuine Spanish food and genuine Spanish chefs and waiters.

The popularity of El Pirata, a cosy and atmospheric Spanish bar/restaurant in Down Street, just off Piccadilly, may be judged by the fact that it is invariably packed with appreciative diners and reservation is essential, particularly at peak times. The food is superb, the staff are friendly and very professional and prices are extremely reasonable despite the Mayfair location.

An extensive tapas menu includes many typically Spanish dishes which one would never find in the pseudo-Spanish tapas bars which abound in our towns and cities: Gulas con potatas asadas (baby eels in olive oil with garlic, dried hot chillis and roast potatoes £7.95); Rinones (kidneys in Sherry wine £4.65); Pulpo a la gallega (octopus brushed with olive oil and paprika £7.85). These delicious dishes are complemented by an extensive collection of Spanish wines, available by the bottle or the glass, some of which are very affordable – a light and refreshing white Vina Sol at £16.95 a bottle and a range of rich, full-bodied red Riojas from £20.55.

A thoroughly delightful venue whether for a quick lunch at the bar or for a leisurely evening meal with family or friends.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank IainGDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Taste of Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

A lovely Spanish tapas bar and restaurant located in Mayfair. The restaurant has a buzzing atmosphere and great ambiance in the basement where we ate. Good tapas, sensibly priced and nice friendly service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We will visit here again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our 4th visit and we were not disappointed! The food was absolutely fabulous and the service second to none! We had recommended this restaurant to friends and they were just as impressed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iona-Luing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pirata of Mayfair also viewed

 

Been to El Pirata of Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing