We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pre theatre supper”
Review of Yming

Yming
Ranked #840 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $67
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent pre theatre supper”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very attentive and friendly staff. Prompt service and freshly cooked food. We arrived without a booking and were greeted like regular customers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    142
    45
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking for a great crispy duck experience, but ended up average”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The springrolls starter and the mixed starter was ok, but the main course with Crispy duck was barely average, littel burned and not properly cut. We also started out with only 5 cold pancakes to 6 people, before ordering 12 more. They where hot, and ok, but then the spring onion and cucumber slices where gone. We ordered more, and got some cucumber slices, but the spring onion was missing. Then the beers where quite warm, the water and coke was short of icecubes and the Chardonnay wine must have been some leftovers from a different party and was not drinkable.
The service could also have been better. Several things forgotten and reminders was necessary several times.
Once we got to the finish, the waiters started taking away the crispy duck and the sacues before everyone had finished.
Not sure this was their best performance of this year.
Better luck if we try again next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Svein-Erik007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“delicious and friendly”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a guaranteed delicious meal. The staff are really excellent: always happy to advise on dishes and tell you if you are about to order too much. I love that they will do this as it means you don't waste your money and you have the perfect amount. The food is always yummy. The interior is very blue and has a reserved atmosphere that's quite unlike many of the restaurants over the road in china town that disappoint. I have been eating here for years and particularly recommend the double cooked belly pork.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pillarboxred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We visited on a wet night in October and the restaurant was full. The decor was very nice, there was a relaxed atmosphere and the service was excellent. We had the Set Menu B for 2, an extra starter of cauliflower, a bottle of wine and a bottle of water for a total of £63. The food was delicious especially the cauliflower and the beef. All in all this was an excellent evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Chinese meal for many a year”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My two grandsons and I wanted an authentic chinese meal so as we were staying on the edge of China Town I looked this restaurant up on Google and decided to give it a go. We were not at all dissappointed it was wonderful. The food excellent staff very helpful and the atmosphere very friendly. We did not leave very much but what we did leave was put into a container for us to take with us as I was unsure of what to do I did not take it with us but I wish we had as it was delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ladylindalawson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yming also viewed

 

Been to Yming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing