We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bags of atmosphere”
Review of The Providores

The Providores
Ranked #1,715 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: $125 - $125
Cuisines: International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marylebone
western europe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bags of atmosphere”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had a quick dinner/supper here, the pulled beef on flatbread. Now it looked a bit of a sight but it was very tasty. I found service pleasant if not over attentive. What I did enjoy thought was the fact that because of a window seat I found dining alone fine, and unlike another london dweller (which I am not) enjoyed the sound and sight of some locals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosceite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    213
    101
    43
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious brunch for small appetites”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We tried to go for lunch on Saturday at 2pm expecting a tapas menu. However, at weekends they don't start lunch until after 4pm before which they serve a brunch menu consisting of posh fry ups but also some imaginative dishes incorporating ingredients you would not normally see on a brunch menu. I had a sweet potato hash, with chorizo and a yoghurt sauce/dip, which was delicious. However, as this was my first meal of the day, the portion was a little on the small side for me (nothing that a little bread could not sort out). Good selection of virgin and alcoholic cocktails, and wines by the glass/carafe. Staff were knowledgeable. I will go again if ever in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lonmys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Vanilla through and through”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went here for a quick meal on a Tuesday night, having booked upstairs we found downstairs to be a bit busier and with more atmosphere, so we opted for a tapas table instead since there was one available.

Staff were remarkably unfriendly, I was ignored by three of them on walking in, despite all of them standing at the entrance, less than a metre away from me, and all having spotted my arrival. On finishing their social conversation they deigned to greet me and I was offered a seat while I waited for my friend. After badgering me repeatedly about ordering a drink while I waited - I was early - my friend arrived and we were shown to a seat. The tables are tiny so we put our bags and coats on the seats next to us. Staff immediately demanded they be removed. Not a problem of course, but when I asked if there was anywhere to put them I was nonchalantly directed to hang our coats on the stairwell myself - it seems if you're not ordering something that will result in profit to the restaurant then 'service' is a foreign concept here. It's little things like this that ruin eating out for me, especially when we paid nearly £100 for a carafe of wine, 3 tapas and a dessert each. They just couldn't be bothered.

The food itself was no better than average. The chilli squid was as advertised but the accompanying aioli tasteless. The pulled beef brisket on flatbread was bland and the guacamole just a dark green mush. The mango sorbet had a bitter aftertaste and the biscuit that came with it was overcooked. The only decent dish was the ham hock salad. Wine was good but extortionately priced.

I wouldn't recommend - the place seems to think far too much of itself, from arrogant and unhelpful staff (unusual in Antipodeans - and I say that as one myself) to over fussy food which doesn't deliver. Not worth the time or money - go to Barrafina if you want some real tapas, with better service, for less!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 00Lolly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Some of the best bites I've ever put in my mouth.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We ate during a fairly busy lunch hour. Downstairs was packed but they told us that for a slight charge (kinda weird) we could eat upstairs. I'm reading that upstairs is more-formal. I suppose it is... non-communal tables with white table clothes. But don't let that scare you... not all that formal... two or three of us wearing t-shirts and no one even remotely giving us the stink-eye. Maybe they save the stink-eye for people wearing t-shirts at DINNER.

Anyway, we had the Turkish eggs (see pic) and the chorizo/egg thingy (see pic)... damn. Damn. It was like discovering a color you didn't know existed. Looked beautiful, tasted beautiful. It didn't hurt that I was in London, on a sunny May day, with my wife, whom I love.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaveHiatusWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good brunch menu, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went for Sunday brunch and really enjoyed it. You can't book for brunch downstairs but the queue was not too long and was fast moving (we went at 12pm). The menu is quite varied for brunch (breakfasts, sweet and savoury, salads, Turkish eggs, asparagus hollandaise, etc.) Good coffee and friendly staff. A relaxed but up-beat atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Providores also viewed

 

Been to The Providores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing