We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Sunday brunch”
Review of The Providores

The Providores
Ranked #1,736 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Price range: $125 - $125
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent for Sunday brunch”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The H and I had a lovely brunch here one snowy Sunday morning. You should book if you want a guaranteed table in the restaurant upstairs otherwise you will have to queue for the incredibly popular and busy tapas room downstairs. I had the banana pecan french toast with bacon and verjus syrup and the H had the turkish eggs. I would have given this review an Excellent rating if not for the sourish aftertaste of the verjus syrup. I'm more of a traditionalist and would have preferred my french toast with maple syrup. The turkish eggs were marvellous though and they serve excellent coffee. I would love to come back and try out their dinner menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aegyogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    210
    101
    43
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Bit hard to review if the staff is rude and you walk away”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Tried to get a table on a cold evening on the 31st, being told that I couldn't wait inside and they would not keep a table if I came back in 5-10 mins or as suggested by them. The end result walked down to union cafe. .

Helpful?
Thank Junaid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing fusion tapas - have been several times”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Tapas are excellent Asian fusion, well prepared and cooked. Great wine, buzzy ambience. Restaurant upstairs good but prefer tapas downstairs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great restaurant... perfect service... nice food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We ate in the posher upstairs restaurant. We arrived at mid-day for a business lunch, but the third person did not arrive until 1pm, but this didn't seem to matter for the waiters, who were courteous & plied us with bread! I had the smoked eel to start, which was a multitude of flavours & very pleasant. My two colleagues had the soup, which whilst not looking the most exquisite, was devoured by both. For main, I had the duck breast with fois gras - my colleagues both asked the chef for a plainer sea bass than the one on the menu... with a plain salad, which they said was perfect. We passed on dessert. A lovely experience in every respect... although on a weekday lunchtime it is more a business venue, than something more romantic...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“fantastic restaurant - great concept”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This place is buzzing downstairs, then you assend the stairs to a calm oasis. The menu is laid out with soups, fish, vege, meat and desserts, and you can order as many courses as you like in an order. I loved that; also everyone on the table does not have to have the same, and can have whatever they like.

No pretention, no telling you how to eat, just good food, great flavours, presentation and wine.

Staff brilliant and attentive, highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Providores also viewed

 

Been to The Providores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing