We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lot to pay for a bowl of cheese”

St Moritz Restaurant
Ranked #3,749 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: $82 - $82
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
sandy_v5
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“a lot to pay for a bowl of cheese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I came here with a group of 5 friends for a birthday celebration. I had no idea what to expect but was excited at the prospect of gooey cheese and chocolate (not in one bowl!).

The restaurant looks excellent, they have done a lot to create the feel of being in Switzerland with the decoration and music. It is extremely small and there is not much space to move your chair or maneuver around other tables, especially when you have two big groups on the 1st floor.

We booked a slot for food, no starters and went straight into the cheese. The cheese was lovely but we just had potatoes and bread to dip in. although the food was nice i found the price was quite expensive especially when you add the price of wine which was not cheap. In total we had 6 people and split the bill equally and it still cost me £60!! when there were only 3 bowls of cheese and some bread shared around three with a couple of people sharing one bowl of chocolate i found this ridiculously expensive.

The wait staff were not that friendly and towards the end when we were the birthday girl was unwrapping presents they were rushing us to leave so that they could get new customers in. The constant approach from them on 4 occaions was not appeaciated.

All in all, i would not go back again but if you can afford to experience it once, why not!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy_v5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    95
    29
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Swiss cheese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This seems to be the only Swiss restaurant in the West End. It's the place to go if you fancy Swiss. Overall, its not bad, but you only come here if you fancy a fondue and a rosti. There isn't another Swiss restaurant to compare it to and I've never been to Switzerland, so I can't comment on how authentic is the food. I would come again. The decor is cheesy, but there's nothing else like it in London.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePermanentTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“genuinely Swiss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was invited for dinner here. It is genuinely Swiss. Swiss owner, Swiss staff, Swiss food. It is also nice to go to a real independent restaurant where the owner is there, rather than a chain, theme or concept restaurant. However ordinary Swiss food is fine but...... a bit ordinary and heavy. I caught a sight of the bill (£110 for two) which I thought was steep considering what we had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eurocitizenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Downhill all the way”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I am amazed this place survives! Kitted out to look like a Swiss farmhouse the decor is tired and in need of a good makeover. The food was extremely disappointing. Both the soup of the day and the onion soup were underseasoned. The rosti was watery and had been blasted under a grill to give it a browned look, rather than cooked in the traditional frying pan. My friends' veau zurichoise was bland, and my escalope viennoise very oily. The staff were competent but I can see no reason why I will be returning here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming owner and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been going to this restaurant for 25 years now and the food is always very good. We had some excellent mushrooms arrived that day from Spain and the Viennoise with two fried eggs and rosti. Absolutely delicious accompanied by an excellent white wine This restaurant and owner have been in Wardour St for 50 years so they must be doing something right!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Moritz Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to St Moritz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing