We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a delight”
Review of Fish in a Tie

Fish in a Tie
Order Online
Ranked #989 of 28,447 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Clapham / Battersea 
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

Been here a few times over the last decade.

I have never been disappointed, food is always brilliant and the whole ambiance is great.

Strongly recommended if your in the area, just make sure you book as it can get busy.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 943darrenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 391 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

I came here on a recommendation when I'd apparently been here 20 years ago as a kid and was told they had a really good value set menu and it didn't disappoint. 2 courses for £14 or 3 for £17.95. My boyfriend had the crab in choux pastry which he really enjoyed, I had deep fried mozzarella which was nice but in hind sight wish I'd chosen something else as it was basic and probably came out the freezer. The mains were really good too and we had breaded chicken and slow cooked gypsy lamb. They both came with veg and potatoes cooked really nicely but the potatoes were lukewarm at best and the food was all very salty, they should really cut back and let people add it if they want. Puddings were tasty, really liked the chocolate mousse. Staff were friendly but didn't check back on us to see if we were happy with food. Overall a good enjoyable meal, nice casual setting, and good value.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank ClaireP763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

I love this place, been coming here for years. Went tonight with a friend and was stunned to find they still offer 2 (very substantial) courses for £20! This is unheard of in London. The food is lovely and the staff are super helpful and not ‘in your face’. Despite this being a really popular place you’re never rushed. If you’re in Clapham and you don’t give it a try, well, you’re nuts!!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank emmalR8932VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

I went to this restaurant for a second time. On both occasions it was for a celebration. Both times the food was excellent, as was the service. great value for money. I will be back!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

I had walked past this restaurant many times but called in with the family for an early Sunday supper. The restaurant is basic but homely and the staff welcoming and friendly
The menu was a pleasant surprise with a good selection and variety of dishes at really reasonable prices. The food came promptly and didn't disappoint. The house red wine was very drinkable and the bill was a pleasure to pay.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank paulandcei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish in a Tie also viewed

 

Been to Fish in a Tie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing