We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Italian”
Review of Il Bordello

Il Bordello
Ranked #332 of 22,692 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $80 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: East End / East London
Essex England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big Italian”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This little restaurant has been a favourite of mine for many years, the food is always good, the portions are big and the atmosphere is always warm and friendly.
Family friendly and low key on the dress code, smart jeans and shirt are a norm.
Highly recommended any day of the week!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    164
    43
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level Contributor
225 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Close to Wapping tube,this a great value and good vibe Italian restaurant with first class service at reasonable prices.food superb

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank djhall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A big slice of Italy!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sitting down and opening the menu in this tucked-away restaurant after a theatre outing, we could have believed ourselves to be in Liguria. Splendid northern Italian cuisine, and attention to detail combined with the clamour of happy diners and enthusiastic staff. Gargantuan portions made me feel a little ungrateful as my plate looked as though I had just picked at my supper even though I'd eaten enough for two. Perhaps a little less next time...?
My wife has coeliac disease and they cooked a gluten-free pasta for her with friendly charm. They made a mistake with a sauce containing flour on her plate and whisked it away and brought her a fresh serving without any huffing or eye-rolling. (She's not being picky - it's risk of illness we are talking about!)
I would heartily recommend a visit, book early and don't eat for a day before you go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheapmuesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
230 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Make Sure You Book”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great restaurant , food and service. Book as always busy. Staff very attentive food delicious although in my opinion portions are too big, would prefer slightly smaller and cheaper then i could manage starter, main and dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loobyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have eaten at Il Bordello twice now, and both times have been very enjoyable. The theme is Italian, but they have quite a wide menu selection built around that theme. The food is excellently cooked and the portions are on the large size. On my more recent visit, I had an antipasti of calamari; this was not on the menu but when available when I asked. For a main course I had some ‘melt in the mouth’ lamb’s liver, served as thin slices with a sauce. They also had a good selection of reasonably priced wines. The service was excellent.

Il Bordello is hidden away in Wapping, down near the river on Wapping High Street, about 300 yards to the west of Wapping Station.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 33Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bordello also viewed

 

Been to Il Bordello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing