We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely authentic French cuisine”
Review of Gastro - CLOSED

Gastro
Price range: $86 - $86
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Clapham / Battersea 
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic French cuisine”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Came here for a friend's birthday with a group of 7. Although the restaurant is small and the seating felt like a bit of a squeeze, the food, service and atmosphere more than made up for it. The owner and waiting staff are all French and they will be delighted if you at least make an attempt to order your food in French as well.
The menu has all the typical dishes one would expect in an upscale French restaurant, including snails, mussles, coq au vin and various steaks (all of which were excellent), plus a great selection of wines.
Although a bit on the pricey side, the food and first class service is worth a visit. Make sure you call ahead if you want to be certain to get a seat - this place is popular.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    20
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Charming setting ...average food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Came here for lunch as a couple on Sunday. Service was very good and you feel like you are actually in France given the setting and the French staff and clientele. However the food we ordered was pretty bland and uninspired. The menu and wine list are great, but our food and some of the other food we saw others eating was fairly average. Better off going for a coffee and croissant there for a taste of France.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 870Zoe870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little bistro”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great little French bistro right across from the Clapham picture house. Don't know what recent people are griping about, our party of three loved it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merenptah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Has gone seriously downhill..”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ate here last night as it WAS one of my partners favourite places. I always thought it just ok and overpriced.

Last night starters appeared after about 15 minutes but then everything fell apart and no one in our section got anything to eat for the next 90 minutes. Waiting staff came nowhere near us except to flirt with the young girls at the next table.

When we finally complained there was no explanation except they were busy and we were at last given a complimentary bottle of wine that no one really wanted - we wanted to EAT and get out..

When the food finally arrived at about 10.15 (we arrived at 8) the frites were lukewarm and obviously refried in dirty oil, two out of the three steaks were incorrectly cooked, the side orders were wrong, there was no poivre in the poivre sauce - it was gravy in a small pot - and the chicken casserole was an old boiler disguised with onions.

Like everyone else when we finished eating all this bad food, we could not wait to leave - final insult was full service charge still added to the bill and still no explanation fro the bad service from any other the seriously disinterested staff..

Manager seemed completely overwhelmed and had no idea how to cope - leaving people that long with no attempt at explanation is totally unacceptable - I believe this is a family run place in which case they really need to get some new staff and attitude. The Gallic charm has worn so thin as to be imperceptible.. Avoid..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GTGTGTGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take that (reheated) chip off your shoulder please, it is so passe!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's strange we British excuse rude, obnoxious, poor table service with a shrug of the shoulders and the phrase 'what do you expect the restaurant is French'? This is such an insult to an industry that in France is a respected career and the vast majority of exceptional French restaurants demand the finest service (maybe not always with a smile) with the finest food.

The ambience is great, the setting intimate and very... authentic. Unfortunately the food was pretty average and was let down further by the service. A mix up with a main course meant we had to choose again, not at any stage did the waiter or manageress apologise, just simply sneered, talked amongst themselves in French and finally accused our table of ordering the wrong food.

The restaurant has a great location and a fine traditional menu, I'm sure the food would have been better had we 'ordered the right food'. Regardless, the restaurant charges over £40 for a Bavette steak with luke warm reheated fries, an overcooked calves liver with burnt bacon and 2 glasses of wine.

The manageress/waitress gave her customer a foul look of astonishment for questioning her mistake, abruptly ignores any opportunity to discuss why the dish was wrong or just simply apologise and then finally adds a service charge to the bill, it was embarrassing. Frankly - whether French, British, Italian or Chinese is irrelevant, a little courteousy wouldn't go amiss.

Mademoiselle, brush that luke warm reheated chip off your shoulder please - it is so passe!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GCaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing