We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing authentic Kerala cuisine in Kilburn !”
Review of Kovalam - London - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kovalam - London
Price range: $41 - $41
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Founex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic Kerala cuisine in Kilburn !”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I live in Switzerland but I go to the Kovalam every time i'm in London. We've visited Kerala a number of times, and spent a lot of time in India, and this is not only the most authentic restaurant we've been to outside Kerala, it is in fact better than most IN Kerala! The salted lassi is the best I have ever tasted, anywhere in the world! and the masala dosa is a real delight. Beetroot thoran was a real discovery - amazing! Only disappointment was the friend crab which was way too spicy, but the friendly staff changed it for me, so that was a really nice surprise.
Highly recommend it - would give it 6 out of 5 if I could

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bongey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recommended dining experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Superior Keralan cuisine, served with a smile. The vegetarian platter and chilli paneer are highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“My favourite Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Had my usual chicken buna on Sunday and brinjal baji and a taste of the jalfrezi and aloo gobi. This is local to me and although there's quite a few Indian restuarants in the area this is my favourite of all of them. Always enjoy a visit to Kovalam. The food is top notch delivered with friendly service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KilburnAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Both the food and the service were fantastic. Definitely the nicest Indian food I have tasted outside of India!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kristeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, terrific service”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The food was exceptional Indian cuisine. The service was great and the price was really competitive. Very impressed and would totally go back there again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moretimeforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kovalam - London also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing