We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food + above and beyond service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivelli - Mayfair

Olivelli - Mayfair
Ranked #3,628 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: The Paradiso story began with Olivelli's Hotel and restaurant which was founded in 1934 by Sicilian-born Rita and Enrico Olivelli. Situated in Store Street - heart of Bohemian London, it quickly became a culinary haven for students from nearby RADA and established actors and actresses at London theatres.Olivelli's name spread rapidly thanks to its warm, friendly atmosphere and authentic, value-for-money food. Such was its reputation that the Marx Brothers insisted on eating at the restaurant on their one and only visit to England. Among other famous diners were the legendary 'naughty girl' Mae West, Danny Kaye, Mickey Rooney, Bob Hope and Liberace.When Sicilian-born Giovanni and Salvatore Salamone bought Olivelli in 1993 - the first of their popular chain of Olivelli Paradiso outlets (now known simply as Olivelli) across London - they took care to preserve the restaurant's unique characteristics, recreating its welcoming atmosphere and using only the finest, freshest ingredients sourced from Italy and nearby markets.Hardly surprising then that contemporary celebrities such as Mel Brookes, Eric Clapton, Kevin Spacey, Graham Norton, Ben Elton, and Jack Dee continue to dine at Olivelli restaurants.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful food + above and beyond service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Thank you Olivelli staff for the warm welcome, the delicious meal, excellent and friendly service, and a special thank you to Paolo for rescuing my out-of-town colleague's precious scarf and going through the trouble of posting it to her. If you like Sicilian food, good wine, and a homey feel, you'll enjoy Ristorante Olivelli. I'll definitely return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    86
    25
    17
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“beautiful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

but oh the tiramasu was wonderful and the help was even better everyone was soo helpful with assisdtance on wine anbd food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schadla-Hall T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Food excellent. Muscles absolutely fresh, impepata di cozze it's a must!
Loved the linguine sarde and they have a very good selection of wines.
The atmosphere is very friendly and my waitress Paola was impeccable especially in giving me tips on what to pick up in the menu!
I really look forward to eating there again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert12370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The service was very good but the fact that I talked to the staff in Italian definitelly helped. The food was good but too much salt was added. It seems that they do not relish any change of their standard menu. They strictly keep to the ingredients on the menu and even suggest to choose other dishes if you do not like it. In my opinion this is not good customer care. The prices were average for London although it could be better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCMAttard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannySal, Owner at Olivelli - Mayfair, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit at our Restaurant.

Your kind words concerning the friendliness of our team and the good food at our St. Christophers Place Olivelli Restaurant are highly appreciated .
As we strive to maintain and continuously improve our high standards, so constructive feedback and suggestions from our guests are of great importance to us.

Therefore please rest assured that we have taken your ideas for improvement on board and will address them.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your comments and hope that we will have the possibility to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Daniella Salamone
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect Pizza,Terrific Tiramisu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Recommended by the Italian bartender at the pub around the corner, able to get a table inside (out of the rain). Shrimp Diavolo starter had a great taste, minimal tomatoes and a nice kick. Pizza Emiliana was as close to real Italian Pizza as I have come in a long time (minimal toppings & sauce, brown thin crust) - perfection on a plate. I thought the prices were reasonable for London, 1 starter, 2 pizzas, mineral water, tiramisu,bottle of wine and 2 after dinner drinks with cappuccinos about the same price as the US, friendly, attentive service made this one of the best meals during a short weekend visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olivelli - Mayfair also viewed

 

Been to Olivelli - Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing