We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear !!”
Review of Thai Break - CLOSED

Thai Break
Price range: $49 - $49
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Kensington and Hyde Park
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Oh Dear !!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

What a disappointment !! Thai Break has been a favourite of ours for some time, but this visit almost turned in to a farce. My friends main meal was a meat dish, the meat smelt so strange that we both were of the opinion that it was "off", no problem said the waitress, you can choose something else. Considering the time already had to wait and the fact that my main had already been served, my friend decided to share mine. This was ok until the bill arrived and we discovered that we had been charged for the "off" dish. What ensued next bordered on the farcical, the waitress refused several times to alter the bill, she would not get the "boss", when she was eventually persuaded to ask the manager to come the table, he refused to come, it was only after some considerable time that it was agreed to deduct the "off" dish from the bill "this time" !! Never Again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    3
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A regular favourite”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Been going to Thai Break 3 or 4 times a year for the past 20. Can't say I've explored the menu fully because I know what I like & generally repeat. Usually, start with sates & spring rolls, main course steamed fish with plain rice washed down with a few Singha beers. Staff friendly & helpful, they don't object to being chivvied along if they're slow, which happens occasionally when they're busy. Downside, tables a bit too close together, trip to loo down dodgy narrow stairs. Best to call and book the window seats because they offer more room and more privacy. Prices very reasonable for the quality of the food

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CosmicLandmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely decor boring food”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

the little restaurant has an exciting interior like an old fashioned Italian trattoria. the staff are friendly, but the food is missing any of the zing we expect from Thai food. why?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nelski698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unreliable”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have had both good and bad meals here, which is a shame as when it is good its a very decent local Thai restaurant. sadly, their unreliability lets them down. different chefs? who knows...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CB_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Small and tucked away just off Notting Hill Gate, Superb Thai food at its best, very busy with only one waitress, but so friendly, who could complain if we had to wait ?? Excellent food, great value.
Find it and enjoy !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Break also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing