We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and authentic”
Review of Barshu Restaurant

Barshu Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Barshu Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,301 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $130
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: At Barshu Restaurant, we want to bring you the best of the authentic flavours of Sichuan in London. Call us today! #Barshu
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy and authentic”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice atmosphere and delicious Chinese food. Come prepared to eat spicy but be surprised by selection of excellent non spicy food too. Service was regular rushed Chinese style but that is not why you go to a place like that! Good for groups.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmmsoymilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    148
    69
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, UK
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Proper Chinese food ... but not much atmosphere”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I visited here ona business trip with colleagues for a "Christmas" gathering. This is probably the most authentic chinese food I have ever eaten - not a sweet nd sour prawn ball in site - and I thoroughly enjoyed it too. Portion size was huge, and the waiter was attentive and very informative about the food. The Only thing was ... we were upstairs and the only people upstairs too. No music, nothing - which was a shame. And its not that I was expecting this to be a "Christmas" themed lunch either. There would have been no atmosphere if it was summer, and not a holiday season. Apart from that, the food is good, but you cant eat here on a budget.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“An authentic Szechuan restaurant in London”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

London is not known for Chinese food. We did not plan to eat here, but on a Saturday night when our first destination (a Scottish restaurant) ended up being unbearably noisy and crowded, we ended up taking the (rather easy to use and get around with) London Underground. We got lost a bit but then ended up at this restaurant. My better half, J2, knew of this place through a cookbook written by a British woman who is now considered an authority on Szechuan food - Fuschia Dunlop. We were not disappointed. The food was authentic, well prepared and did not cut any corners - which means it was authentically spicy numbing hot! The one criticism I have is that the Chinese liquors (although available - and I m not sure how difficult it is to obtain them in London, but we are easily able to purchase them at reasonable prices in Boston) are excessively priced. Not just high (as one might expect in London), but at levels that I believe to be at what some might call "gouging". Suffice it said that the meal itself without any liquor is reasonably priced and expertly cooked and presented. Highest recommendations if you live in London and want authentic Szechuan food. Otherwise, take a pass - you can get much better in other countries.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Expensive, small portions, reasonably authentic”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This restaurant pulls people in because the decor is pleasing from the outside. However look carefully inside and there are few Chinese people there. Listen to the staff, they are not speaking Mandarin and especially not the Szechuan dialect of the cuisine they allegedly serve.

This restaurant is passable. It has a pleasing interior of traditional Chinese mahogany design, downstairs is nicer than upstairs.

Food is £4-5 per dish more expensive than comparable restaurants in Chinatown and the portions are tiny. We had four dishes between three people: Ma Po Dofu - good, bit greasy; some stir friend vegetables - expensive for £9; chicken with chillis (the tiniest scraps of chicken with bones) in a giant pile of chills - 5% chicken at best; red braised pork (good); two beers, one glass of wine = £90 with tip. Very expensive for Chinatown standards which is just half a block away.

Staff were ruthlessly efficient.

For Szechuan, I would choose another restaurant in Chinatown. I think they feel they can command the premium (and not work for it) because they are half a block north, technically in trendier Soho that down to earth Chinatown.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Coming out of a show and looking for a restaurant, my rule is to try a busy one first and this one wss spot on. Judging by the number of chinese diners this one was a local jewel. Food was really good and service impeccable. Not overpriced and definitely worth a return. We were lucky to get a table for 2 but book to make sure as lots got turned away. Tip....the belly pork was lovely and not how you would expect :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlicanteJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barshu Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Barshu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing