We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive japanese food, lovely tea and dessert with wine”
Review of Yauatcha

Yauatcha
Ranked #459 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $102 - $102
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Yauatcha Soho is a Chinese dim sum teahouse in the heart of Soho and part of the Hakkasan group, offering an all day grazing experience. Launched in 2004, Yauatcha gained immediate critical acclaim and received its Michelin star within a year of opening which it continues to maintain. Yauatcha provides a unique dining experience, offering authentic dim sum with a contemporary influence. The renowned menu includes a wide selection of dim sum and a list of over 60 types of tea. The design by Christian Liagre offers full view of the kitchen allowing passers by to witness the preparation of the expertly made dishes. Spread over two floors, the 160 cover restaurant offers a light environment on the ground floor, emulating the vibrant 'chatter shop' atmosphere of a traditional dim sum eatery in Hong Kong. Its subterranean level offers deep booths and low lighting, providing a captivating dining space for evening.
Tromso, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exclusive japanese food, lovely tea and dessert with wine”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited solo for brunch without a reservation. Got a nice table, really professional service. Delicious food, had tasty dumplings, an amazing crab roll, and a interesting mushroom soup. Very japanese. The menu has wine recommendations for every dessert, mine was a really nice combo. Had a large pot of green tea as well, good. A bit expencive, but would definately go again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skien86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,649
    992
    340
    151
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The place in London for tea and a desert!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I love this place. The food is great, although pricey, but really where this place stands out is for their desserts. I have a huge sweet tooth and this is the place to get my sugar fix! Each desert is more unusual than the next one and whiling away an afternoon drinking some of their excellent chinese teas over one of their deserts is for me one of the most enjoyable ways to send a lazy afternoon in London. The decor is very cool and other then the seating (which is slightly uncomfortable but not enough to detract from the experience) everything is spot on! Highly recommend!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Acmchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I just keep going back...”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This has been my go-to restaurant when taking visitors to London out. Many of the items on the Hakasaan menu (its sister restaurant) feature on the menu here at a much smaller price - you cannot go past the prawn toast - I've never eaten anything like it. Try to be seated downstairs - but not behind or at the end of the bar - it's a squashy little space not conducive to a relaxing meal. You will feel bustled out of here by the staff if you take an early sitting - try and eat after 9pm to avoid this rushing nonsense. I so hate how London eateries employ this greedy tactic. Each diner should choose a course each then share with the table - delicious!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BonkersBridezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is one of those restaurants that one just has to experience. The decor is what catches your eye first. An electric blue wall surrounds the place. The inside has an aquarium lining one of the walls in the same blue. Seating is at low, unfussy tables with comfortable chairs.

The cocktails were amazing and innovative. Each of us ordered different ones and we couldn't decide whose was the best! Still the mandarin based one and the coconut one was probably the best. What followed was amazing too. The Dimsum was perfectly cooked and served. Venison, prawn, chicken, crab and so on appeared in a seemingly endless stream. The main course of noodles, pak choi, prawn and chicken was some of the best Chinese food we have ever had. Finally the dessert - perfectly balanced and presented.

If I had to look for a fault it would probably be the noise level in the main level. It was just buzzing and conversation was difficult. The basement was sparsely occupied so if your objective is a great meal then it maybe better to sit there.

This place is not cheap. But for the quality and the experience it's well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debubhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Can't fault Yauatcha - best dim sum in central London!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Yauatcha several times, this was the first for lunch. The atmosphere was light and upbeat, and the service was professional and friendly. We took our waiter's recommendation and could not have been more pleased. He persuaded us to have the cheung fun which I've always found floppy and difficult to eat but the Yauatcha version was amazing - a mix of soft and crunchy, and totally delicious. And the iced teas were perfect on a rare hot day in London. Can't fault Yauatcha - definitely the best dim sum in central London!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DH-M11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yauatcha also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Yauatcha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing