We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for lunch but wonderful food”
Review of Chino Latino

Chino Latino
Ranked #518 of 25,129 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $86
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Salamanca Street
Transit: Vauxhall/Westminster Tube or Bus 77, 344, 360.
Description: Welcome in Chino Latino London Chino Latino, the award winning Pan-Asian South Bank London Restaurant is located at Park Plaza Riverbank London near Vauxhall Station. Our Pan-Asian food is served to share and dishes are brought steadily to the table creating an informal yet sophisticated style of eating and drinking - the best way to enjoy the taste sensation that is Chino Latino. Chef Seebach has previously worked for some of the top Pan-Asian Restaurants in London and now oversees the menus for the Chino Latino brand. Open for Lunch, Monday to Friday and Dinner seven days a week, choose from our signature Black Cod in Spicy Miso and Tempura Soft Shell Crab to freshly caught sushi and sashimi
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

I had the Black sea bass and my son had the duck at lunchtime. Both dishes were wonderfully executed and presented. However, £54 for lunch is a bit spendy for me... It would be totally worth it for dinner. Amazing space and beautiful views.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank doxymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Etienne L, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2016

Dear Zagnutmom,

Thank you very much for this review.

We feel proud to read your experience was wonderful. We hope you enjoyed the new place as we have been moving there only 2 weeks ago.

We sincerely hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Etienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 551 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2016

Ate here the 1 time we did in the hotel and it was poor and eye wateringly expensive for what it is I would avoid if I was you, suppose to be a fusion of japanesse and latin foods but just mean they do everything poorly, got some japanesse starters and asked for wasabe - didn't know what it was eventually brought out a brown watery paste after saying they didn't have any which has nothing in common with green wasabe paste!!
Problem with all these places is they are only interested in screwing as much money as possible from tourists to the detriment of all else. Do youself a massive favour turn left out the front of the hotel walk 50 yards up the road to the pub on the corner the food is a 3rd of the price beauifully prepared and fresh, it also has a resturant upstairs.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank williamsdjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Etienne L, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2016

Dear Williansdjg,

Thank you very much to take the time to write this review. We have tried to take note of your feedback and handover with the team.

I feel sad to read none of our staff know what is wasabi paste as most of them has been train into our food and service standards and the wasabi is used currently. We have 2 types of wasabi we are serving which are the green wasabi paste as you mentioned and the fresh wasabi a bit watery indeed.

However we will ensure in the future to recommend the two type of wasabi to avoid confusion and ensure our guest are well looked after and not mislead after as most of our comments below suggest it.

Kind regards,

Etienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

So what they call an Americano is more like a double espresso. They add on 12.5% service which brings the price up to £3.95 for a small cup of Luke warm coffee that you can drink down in seconds. Add to that the fact that I sat there for ten minutes and had to go up to the bar to get someone's attention, despite it being waitress service. This then happened again on a second visit! I should really have taken the service charge off the bill but it seemed petty at the time. Bad service is usually down to the management not engaging their staff or recruiting the right people and when you're charging these prices you really need to get the service right. Because of the bad coffee experience I decided not to risk going back for dinner, which I would have done whilst staying in the hotel. It's a shame because the rest of the hotel experience was very good.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Termer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Etienne L, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2016

Dear Termer13,

Thank you very much for this detailed feedback. We always try to learn from our mistake and we will ensure this feedback will be handover to the team.

We have been moving recently to this new venue and has been changing our coffee supplier and bringing a new equipment. We will ensure to review our serving system.

If by any chance you change your mind and would like to try again the restaurant feel free to book directly via me, I will ensure that this experience is a one time only.

Kind regards,

Etienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2016

It had been a while since I had last eaten here and was not disappointed. The sirloin on the rocks was fantastic. Also a special mention for Gabrielle who continues to provide excellent service with his big friendly personality.

Keep up te good work Gabrielle

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shasha Y, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2016

Dear David A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit at Chino Latino London.

I am delighted to know that our signature dish Sirloin steak never disappoints and you had a fantastic experience again. I am sure that Gabriel will be very proud to read your wonderful comments about his service, which will motivate him to keep up the good work.

It was a pleasure to welcome you back and we sincerely hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Shasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

Amazing food, excellent drinks and contains , very good service. Go there and you will go again. We took the menu for two it was more than enough.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank manolisp698
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shasha Y, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Dear Manolis P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Chino Latino London.

It is a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your evening with us. I am delighted you enjoyed our tasting menu which offers the best selection and variety of dishes.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Shasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chino Latino also viewed

 

Been to Chino Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.