We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place for a special night out”
Review of Chino Latino

Chino Latino
Reserve with OpenTable
Chino Latino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #125 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $89
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Salamanca Street
Transit: Vauxhall/Westminster Tube or Bus 77, 344, 360.
Description: Welcome in Chino Latino London Chino Latino, the award winning Pan-Asian South Bank London Restaurant is located at Park Plaza Riverbank London near Vauxhall Station. Our Pan-Asian food is served to share and dishes are brought steadily to the table creating an informal yet sophisticated style of eating and drinking - the best way to enjoy the taste sensation that is Chino Latino. Chef Seebach has previously worked for some of the top Pan-Asian Restaurants in London and now oversees the menus for the Chino Latino brand. Open for Lunch, Monday to Friday and Dinner seven days a week, choose from our signature Black Cod in Spicy Miso and Tempura Soft Shell Crab to freshly caught sushi and sashimi
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Special place for a special night out”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We wanted a special place to share a meal with family during our visit in London. Chino Latino did not disappoint. You feel special from the moment you arrive til the parting second. The space and lighting create an ambience that feels private yet open. We decided to share starters and entree's between four with each having a pick. Without exception we enjoyed each selection with lip smacking pleasure. Grilled scallops, tempura veggies, crispy duck roll, bulgogi, baby chicken, tofu cubes steamed bok choi and passionfruit cheesecake, all exceeded our expectations and offered a new taste experience, worthy of the kind of memories lingering from a special night out with family. Tip: check their website for special promotions - we enjoyed a 25% savings off the final bill, simply by each ordering a starter. Simply brilliant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KingstonBWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Brand Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
KingstonBWB,

Thank you for taking time to share you dining experience with us. It's certainly a pleasure to read that guests have enjoyed our food with 'lip smacking pleasure!'.

Great to see you took advantage of our 25% offer. Do keep checking our website and social media channels for various offers that we run throughout the year.

Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    206
    46
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent, imaginative food! Not cheap!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The food is great! Interesting flavours, unique combinations of highest quality ingredients that work well, you will have several surprises too! Food plating and presentation were as imaginative as the flavours, with unique plates for each dish. We had decided to share all plates before we arrived and this was a good thing since the hostess noted that it would be difficult to being everything out at once. Once we saw and tasted the food, we understood why, each dish was a delicate creation. The scallops are $$$$ but they are worth it. Service was very good, although you could tell that our waiter lacked experience in the formal service of this place, he did everything perfectly but not with the smooth self confidence of an experienced professional. Service was very attentive but discreet, water and wine always dealt with, table cleaned between courses, yea! The ambience is very modern, blue and red lighting, very relaxing actually, a nice space for dinner. Lots of space between tables and lots of table room.
However, this is a restaurant in a hotel on the Thames across from Parliament and with an address like that, nothing comes cheap. You can reduce your cost by 25% by using a restaurant booking service online the way we did. I never had to mention this and it was done automatically on the bill.
In summary, an excellent, grand hotel dining experience but definitely 21st Century in decor and food! Not sure about the name, though lol.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Brand Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Peter,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent experience. I will pass your compliments on to the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great food with the staff being very friendly and of good service. The restaurant has a nice ambience about it. Cocktails are tasy and went down well. All in all an enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryJames555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Brand Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
GaryJames555,

Thank you for your great comments.

We also love the cocktails!

At the moment we are currently re-developing the cocktail menu, so perhaps worth a visit next month to see what we have come up with? We won't let you down, I promise!

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute staff but they aren't trained.”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This is the hotel in our restaurant so we tried it for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast menu is short and the food is decent. Dinner menu is longer but food is still ok. The service was our main problem. The staff is sweet but are not trained. They brought sides 10 minutes after the meal and the appetizer is brought 30 seconds before the meal. If you choose to come here (don't make a trip it's not worth it). DO NOT ORDER DESSERT!!! My family ordered the passion fruit cheesecake, fried ice cream, and a banana toffee ice cream thing. All were terrible! The cheesecake tasted like jello and had a "marshmallow blowtorch" that is going to haunt my nightmares, the ice cream in the fried ice cream as well as the crust was bland, and the banana toffee thing was ok but not worth the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenAnneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Brand Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
LaLa243,

It looks like you had a fantastic time when you visited London recently, but I was sorry to read that the service in our restaurant wasn't up to scratch.

We have a thorough training and induction plan for all of our staff, and we continue to develop the team once they have passed probation. On this occasion it seems we have fallen short of the exacting standards that we set our self.

Not in any way to defend what does seem like a bad experience for you and a rare incident for us, but the style of our food is to send dishes out as soon as they are ready to encourage everyone to share the food - but this ought to have been explained to your on the night.

At this stage all I can do is apologise on behalf of the team and I would encourage that if you do find yourself in London again, please drop by and we can make amends and give you a real Chino welcome.

With regards to your comments on the cheesecake, I have passed this on to the chef who will be reviewing it.

I would like to thank you for your comments, and rest assured it will be taken constructively to develop the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food at a High Price”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I went to this restaurant after reading the great reviews on TripAdvisor, and although I was not disappointed by the food (had great prawn spring rolls, scallops, red pepper and crab tempura, and sirloin steak), the price was much higher than I had anticipated. The restaurant itself has a lovely atmosphere, but it is located in a hotel, which takes away from it, in my opinion. The staff was very helpful, and it was a fun dinner. But I just couldn't get past our bill at the end of the night. For the amount of food, the price was just too high. The scallop appetizer was 12 pounds, for 4 small scallops! To me, that's just a bit excessive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KAW218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan K, Brand Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
KAW218,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am really glad you enjoyed your meal. I have taken your comments on board with regards to prices, and please rest assured that we do constantly review our menu and pricing structure to ensure we are in line with other restaurants in London.

We also continually run special offers and promotions to add further value to our offering, which we run intermittently throughout the year. You can check for these on our website and also our social media channels.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chino Latino also viewed

 

Been to Chino Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing