We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great party atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roadhouse

Roadhouse
Ranked #3,277 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Situated in the heart of Covent Garden, ROADHOUSE is an American-style retro diner and late-night bar that remains at the forefront of the London party scene. With its vibrant personality, distinct style, awesome food, signature collection of cocktails and an electric atmosphere evoked by live, nightly entertainment, Roadhouse offers the complete party package. Unrivalled live music nights from Indie Rock Covers to Rhythm and Blues, remain the main attraction at Roadhouse, along with nightly entertainment such as Rockaoke and Flair Nights followed by late night DJ line ups until 3am. Serving American favourites 'til late, Roadhouse's menu will keep you satisfied all night long with the likes of the famous Route 66 Melt, Prime Steak Fajitas and Refuel Platters to name but a few. As the Original World Famous Flair Bar, expect to be entertained all night long by the lively team as they prepare delicious cocktails with plenty of skill and heaps of personality. Nightly happy hours and an extensive cocktail list make it the perfect place to party.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great party atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked our Xmas party week b4 Xmas (only 4 of us). 3 course dinner which was ok, nothing too exciting for £30 and a booth over dance floor. Kept table for the night so major plus point as it was packed in there all thru to 3am!
Great live bands, good music, great atmosphere and American bar - worth a night out in c garden ! Get in b4 10pm tho as charge entrance fee of a tenner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona1974_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    141
    58
    23
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great grub and top staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

American-style diner with Cocktail bar tenders and live music plus excellent waiters especially Greg form Camden (do not be deceived by his Kiwi twang...he's just travelled a lot innit) x

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
looe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“so called manager ruined our evening”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Last week a friend invited us to roadhouse for a nice meal and a catch up. My girlfriend and I travelled up to London from Cornwall and shopped around London in the day and met for dinner at roadhouse in the evening. Our friend had booked online and had the 50% off voucher. We waited around for the place to open and were excited about having a couple of cocktails with our dinner. We walked up to the door and the doorman stopped me and called the manager who claimed the dress code was no shorts. I asked him if they had changed the dress code since the summer ? he said no and that shorts are accepted in the summer but not in January ! I asked him why the website doesn't state this and instead states just "casual" ? I then explained that being almost 7 feet tall that I found it so hard to get jeans or trousers to fit me that I mostly where shorts all year and that once we had eaten we planned to leave and not stay for the evening and maybe he as the manager could make an exception just this once as we had travelled quite a distance. The unapologetic manager (who stood with his hands in his pockets the whole time) refused to budge and just kept saying he couldn't let me in with shorts on. The whole time we spoke to him he stood with his hands fixed in his pockets looking around and generally showing no signs of bother, basically just waiting for us to go away. My girlfriend was sure that he just took a dislike to me as I'm rather a large guy covered in tattoos (like most tattooists) but judging by a lot of reviews on here he is just a shocking "manager" that's generally rude to everyone

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovefood57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Found this restaurant via Tripadvisor and have just been for our second visit.
Entrance is tucked away and doesn't give the impression of being a foody place, looks more like a club. In the evenings it does become a clubby venue but we have on;y been early evening so can't comment on how busy or loud it gets.
Food is served in a separated area done out as an American diner with bench seat cubicles for a pleasant cosy feel.
Food is typical American fair with steaks, ribs and chicken.
We opted for the sharing platter of 2x 8oz steaks, 2x chicken breasts, huge pile of calamari, chips and salad at around £28 this is great value and incredible when you use the 50% offer when available on Tripadvisor.
I don't know how they do this at that price as the steaks are very good quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Huge portions, service is mediocre.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Visited the restaurant for dinner on a Saturday evening. Pre-booked in advance as I'd read online that it gets very busy. Checked with the restaurant via email if there was an area to relax after our meal and was advised that we could only reside at the table for 90mins but could relax at the bar afterwards.

The table we were allocated was right by the wall so decided to move to the next table along. The space was slightly cramped and not ideal if you didn't want to hear what the people on the next table were saying! Service was slow and people around us who ordered after us were served before us. We waited +10mins for cocktails.

That was the negative ... On the plus side... The food was delicious and portions were huge! I suggest paying a visit when you are very hungry to make the most of it.

Was a nice experience but probably wouldn't revisit based on the atmosphere and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadhouse also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing