We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ambience and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Tree Maida Vale

Banana Tree Maida Vale
Ranked #3,824 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Paddington / Maida Vale
Description: At Banana Tree Restaurants, we offer you an authentic selection of dishes and specialities from the indochina region. Fresh, award winning food from the lemongrass growing countries including Thai, Vietnamese, Cambodian, & Laotian as well as flavours from the peninsula of Malaysia and Singapore. Come try our fresh new flavours at one of our restaurants today!
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent ambience and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The restaurant is just outside the Maida Vale tube station, making it an ideal meeting point and easy to commute to. The staff are friendly and accomodating, given that we stayed on till quite late . The food is well cooked with a good, healthy mix of asian flavors. However, for someone who has travelled in the SE Asia, it might be bland in comparison. And they stock my favourite beers as well (Singha, Asahi) which goes perfectly with this kind of food. Overall, lovely little place to meet a couple friends over a cosy meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vghosh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service at Banana Tree, Maida Vale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I had great service at this restaurant on Monday afternoon. We had met Andrei before and again he was excellent! He ensured that our dietary requirements were met. He even cleaned the grill to ensure that our food had not come into contact with pork. Andrei - excellent man and great member of staff. The food, of course, was amazing. The Maida Vale branch is truly excellent!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaTreeUK, Group Customer Service Manager at Banana Tree Maida Vale, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Very glad Andrei made sure your service at our restaurant was excellent! See you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
182 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent food, well priced and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The food is really good and the service also good. The restaurant is just outside the tube station in Maida Vale, but it is very small with not that many tables. However it has a cozy ambiance and good to take some friends for a good Asian meal

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Deeeelicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing soup: spicy, coconut milk, came with chicken or shrimp. It was a huge portion, loved it! Also had a fresh fruit shake, also yummy, so healthy. I only don't give it 5 stars because it can be crowded, small space, I got bumped into quite a bit because seating isn't well spaced. I'd def go again though!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lleeyyaahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“NEVER a disappointment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This place is such a gem. Tiny but nice on the inside, it is mainly used as a takeaway although on a weekend night you'll find it packed. However, we have never been turned away, and have always somehow found a small table. In the worst case, you can get a takeaway. The food is just perfect. All types of curries and indo-chinese cuisine are on offer, and everything tastes amazing. I've never felt ill or bloated after eating a curry here. Appetizers are beautiful as well. GET A COMBO DEAL. They're the best thing ever. Staff are friendly and service is never too slow.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dr002jy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Tree Maida Vale also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
 
London, England
 

Been to Banana Tree Maida Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing