We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Olde word charm What a find.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scarsdale Tavern

The Scarsdale Tavern
Ranked #1,100 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $65
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Earls Court
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Olde word charm What a find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked dinner at this small traditional pub. The food, both, bar and restaurant is very very good.
The ambience warm and welcoming with the buzz of a happy place.
The staff are all attentive without being over bearing or pushy.
I had a drink in the afternoon where I met the landlady and James, both made me feel very welcome.

I need to say a special thank you to James he made my day, when he had time in the afternoon he would find time to chat. The pub was busy at teatime onwards but James was always around and would speak in the passing, offering advice on beer and recommending different dishes on the menu.
To a traveller away from home this helps make the experience enjoyable.

I have been a bar fly all my days and think I know a good pub with good staff.
THIS IS ONE OF THOSE PUBS
If in the area (Kensington) check this pub out, you will not be disappointed

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dottdott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    89
    16
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Super food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I visited this pub with colleagues during a business trip in London. This was a rural pub in the middle of Kensington. Lovely ambience, good beer and excellent food.

The food was very well prepared and reasonably priced. The menu had plenty of variation and most people would be able to find something they would enjoy. The staff were friendly, providing a good service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great food, especially the lamb was excellent. Fine ales and nice and good service. A great evening!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Just what I was looking for - a proper pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was in London for a business meeting and a few of us went in search of a pub serving good beer and good food. We found both of these at the Scarsdale ! We were quickly seated at a table near the kitchen and our food order was taken by a very friendly and efficient young man who looked after our needs for the rest of the evening. Food was very good and was surprisingly well priced. beer was excellent - can you beat Fullers London Pride?

Definitely a winner

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Proper Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

A real find when on a recent trip to London. Just looks the part and the staff , host and customers were top drawer. Busy, with a fine open fire and a great atmosphere. We could see the restaurant was very busy and although we did not eat there we will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deckland_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scarsdale Tavern also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Scarsdale Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing