We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, fresh sardines And great veal”
Review of Il Portico

Il Portico
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Portico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #574 of 23,993 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $77
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Kensington and Hyde Park
Description: The oldest family run restaurant in London. Spanning 6 decades and three generations, Il Portico Restaurant on Kensington High Street has been cooking regional Italian specialities since it was first opened in the 1960"s by acclaimed chef Pino Chiavarini. Still managed to this day by the same family, siblings James and Francesca draw heavily from their roots, providing simple, authentic Italian food from their home region of Emilia Romagna and surrounding area. Whilst the family are always on hand to welcome you in, our Executive chef, Eduardo (currently in his 25th year of service with us) concentrates on slow, homemade dishes with a sense of history and provenance.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived early on a ghastly evening but they kept us in even though not officially open. Very welcoming and friendly. Quick service despite being so early. Excellent starters - delicately flavoured, perfectly cooked sardines and rich, smokey penne with smoked pigs cheeks. The main courses, rack of lame and veal with prosciutto and sage were excellent, as was the wine and grappa. Maybe a touch expensive, but that's Kensington, for you. Food and service of the highest quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KSAfricaHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Il Portico, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We're so glad that you had a great experience with us, and thank you so much for the review!
James & all at Il Portico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 335 of 474 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

What more could you ask for? Great food and amazing service for a reasonable price.
We started with some rustic bread which was sourced locally and served with olive oil. My girlfriend was vegetarian and with there not being a great deal of choice for veggies, the chef whipped up a very tasty pumpkin ravioli which she was delighted with. I had Gnocchi with Gorgonzola and we shared a tiramisu. The food matches the environment - hearty and homely. A welcome change to the samey samey chain restaurants of London!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KavonBagheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Il Portico, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you kindly for such a glowing response! We're so happy that you had a wonderful time with us! Come back anytime! James & all the family at Il Portico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Have been twice and very pleased with small, neighborly restaurant. It is a good sign when local neighbors show up with all the options they have. Food was delicious (Saltimbocca a la Romana) and service quick. Fills up quickly so be early. Will go back during my next trip from Boston

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Il Portico, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you! We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review. Glad you had a wonderful time, and we look forward to serving you again soon. James & all the family at Il Portico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

When we went to Il Portico and immediately found it full of locals, we were concerned about how we would be treated. We didn't have to be as they welcomed us as if we were regulars. Took 4 year old grandson with us and we loved every moment there. Great foods, including pasta with pesto (not on menu) for child and vegetarian for adults and delicious veal Milanese, super wine selections, and great service. We feel this is a wonderful find and one of the best Italian restaurants we've experienced there and we will be coming back again, whenever we get back to London.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank retireeWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Il Portico, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Many thanks for such a positive review! We really appreciate you taking the time to rate us, and we look forward to seeing you for dinner again soon. James & all the family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Tables are close and it gets noisy but not outrageous. Had calves liver in sage, butter veal stuffed ravioli spinach fried zucchini. All very good. The spoiler: a very veteranwaiter who 1 served the adjoining table to whom he was rude, while his butt was virtually in my companions face 2 did not ask what drinks we wanted, offer specials or ask how meat should be cooked, nor checked back to see if anything was needed, offer dessert and coffee. Or in fact ever appear again! Rest of staff seemed fine, but his indifference was offensive.
There's an old joke about the old weary waiter who tells the diner there's no extra charge for the fly in your soup. So go but don't put up with this poor service.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank newy0rkcitygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Il Portico, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

In the interest of balance, the gentleman in question was completely unaware that his behind was on your way, and apologises for any offence caused. He's actually an extremely polite man, and was mortified with embarrassment when I discussed this with him.

The reason why he didn't come back to your table for the rest of the evening is simply that we are a very small restaurant and do not assign specific waiters to specific tables, hence why you were served by different people during your dinner.
Hopefully this may help clear some things up, but feel free to contact me at the restauarnt anytime if you would like to discuss further.
Best wishes
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Portico also viewed

 

Been to Il Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing