We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Desserts and Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canela

Canela
Reserve with OpenTable
Canela is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,211 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Desserts and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The best Brazilian desserts I have ever eaten outside Brazil...Great service...The Cod Fish and Feijoada were very tasty also. It is a must if you are into Latin food.

Helpful?
Thank borri49
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    80
    30
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I enjoyed my lunch in this small cafe! Brazilian theme with great selection of food!! - and Custard tarts to die for ! Very reasonably priced! Would go again for lunch if in the area

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyAdamF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Casual and calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This little spot is in the 7 Dials neighborhood, just half a block from the theatre where Matilda is playing. We sat at one of the few sidewalk tables, and enjoyed a selection of salads (fruit, corn, veggie, mushroom, etc), and also an order of the chicken. This was perfect before the show. Some were just having drinks. This isn't fine dining, but offers a nice option that is a step up from Pret a Manger.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mosthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sadly I would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had high expectations given reviews elsewhere and the nice casual eating space. We just wanted a light bite and so went for the starter/tapas style menu which includes various cheese, meat boards and the house Canela board. We had the Canela board which turned out to be a variety of what I would describe fried potato dumplings with fish, meat and cheese fillings. The food was barely lukewarm and had been heated in a microwave - there were several microwaves visible and the visit was punctuated with a series of pings - and was accompanied by crisps, olives and a pot of tomato ketchup! It was carb heavy and pretty tasteless. My companion also had a soup which was good but not very hot. The wine which accompanied the meal was lovely. The service was friendly and efficient but this was marred by the fact that we had to draw to the waitress' attention the fact that we had been significantly overcharged. Other diners appeared to enjoy their food and there was a lovely selection of sandwiches and cakes on display. It could be that we just made the wrong food choices but sadly our experience was such that we would not make a repeat visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A rather disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Canela looked good from the outside, with an interesting menu and reasonable prices. The food on the counter in the chiller cabinet looked delicious.

However, the soup that I ordered was bland, and luke warm. The service, while polite and friendly, was slow (mainly due to the fact the poor waiter was rushed off his feet).

The restaurant was roasting hot, and uncomfortable. The heat certainly didn't encourage me to hang around and try another course, especially after the disappointment with the soup.

If a friend insisted on dragging me back, I would happily go and give it another chance, but I wouldn't be holding my breath,

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canela also viewed

 

Been to Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing