We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity.”

Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street
Ranked #8,166 of 23,993 Restaurants in London
Price range: $22 - $79
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Description: Bavarian Beerhouse (est. 2004) is the UK’s only German Restaurant & Bar chain, offering an authentic German experience with a variety of freshly tapped ice cold beers served in huge Stein glasses, accompanied by hearty Bavarian food in its two London locations ‘Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street’ and ‘Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill’. With its native German speaking waitresses and directly from Germany imported food & beer, it remains the UK’s only original German restaurant chain. Locals, city workers & tourists alike enjoy the atmosphere and table service provided by charming waitresses in traditional Bavarian 'Dirndl' dresses. Additionally, in 2004 Bavarian Beerhouse brought the world's biggest beer festival "Oktoberfest" to London for the first time. Since then it has firmly established itself as the UK's Number One Oktoberfest Specialist, serving thousands of beer-loving customers and even the British Army. In addition to its restaurants, Bavarian Beerhouse Ltd. runs a fully equipped catering service, bringing “Oktoberfest” to business parks, corporate events and private functions all over England, Scotland and Wales.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I really wanted to like the Bavarian Beerhouse. I like and respect places that try to be a bit different, so the thought of some different beer to wash down some German sausage and sauerkraut was quite appealing.

Sadly, the biggest weiners in the restaurant were the party sat a couple of tables down. Now I'm all for a bit of drunken revelry, but when this descends to pushing tables over and insulting other punters in the toilets, I'd argue that the blurry line has been crossed. The atmosphere was so unpleasant it put quite a downer on the evening, and it was a good hour before the staff finally decided to kick them out in an untidy scuffle (to not inconsiderable cheering from the crowds remaining). The remainder of the evening was more how it should have been. I enjoyed the Jagertrain, by the way.

You seem to like responding to each review on here BB, so tell me why it took so long to decide to get rid of these pillocks? If your evening's takings are the most important consideration, regardless of the clientele you end up attracting, then afraid I won't be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spursforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, General Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear spursforlife
I apologise that you did not enjoy your experience at our Bavarian Beerhouse as much as we would have liked you to have enjoyed it. Unfortunately from time to time, due to the nature of our business, we do get some 'pillocks' as you called them. We do endeavour to get rid of them asap because we understand that it is not nice for the other guests (and us). I apologise that in this case we let you down by not having kicked them out in a timely manner. I will speak to the people involved and make sure that it does not happen again. Give us another chance?

Kind regards
Bavarian Beerhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 194 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

The restaurant is in traditional Bavarian style with wooden benches. The menu is decent and the food very nice. The staff was friendly. Might point out that they speak in German a lot, even though I am a German speaker, I find this irritating as the majority of clients are non-German. They play very tacky German music. I would go back, though rather with a big crowd of people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MDKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Public Relations Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us.

To make it authentic, all our waitresses and waiters are German, but speak very good English, too. Music has always been an issue... we try to play a mixture of German and international music: some prefer more German, other more English music.

Hope to see you again soon. Keep on rocking!

Prost!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went there for my birthday. It was very busy, but the service was great. Food was very good too. And I better not start talking about all the beer and shots we had. ;-)
Thanks for a really good birthday. We will come back very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jules t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Public Relations Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear jules t
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. See you again soon. Keep on rocking!

Prost!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went there several times and always enjoyed the food & beer. The place seems to be very busy and many events taking place. Staff and waiters are very friendly and fast. Can only recommend this place as one of London´s top "Event Restaurants".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maransay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Public Relations Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. See you again soon. Keep on rocking!

Prost!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good place for that german bar feel.It certainly made a change from your normal bars, look up their web site for more details. The bar is located downstairs so be warned after a couple of those steins those stais seem a lot steeper. http://www.bavarian-beerhouse.co.uk/

Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Public Relations Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. See you again soon. Keep on rocking!

Prost!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing