We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”

The Real Greek - Spitalfields
Ranked #2,621 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Description: Situated in the heart of the renowned Old Spitalfields Market, voted Best London Market, and just a stone's throw away from the buzzing City, this restaurant is one of its kind. We pride ourselves in always providing our customers with a healthy, fresh seasonal menu where they are always able to find something different and exciting to tantalize their taste buds! This location is ideal for lunch, business meetings, dinner or even if you just fancy a couple of drinks, it makes for the perfect ending to a stressful day at work or the perfect start to one's evening ahead!
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

There was a really nice buzz about the place and you could tell the staff all worked well together as a team. Although we pre booked online, our visit was an informal meal before catching a train home so we went for the set menu. Obviously the selection is a bit more limited than on the full menu but there was still a good choice and at just a tenner for a starter and a main we didn't mind splashing out a bit more on wine and a few extra's. Great if you like the Greek meze style of dining, lots of different dishes to try, served in small portions. We certainly didn't leave hungry. We have been to Greece many times and it wasn't quite the same as a long leisurely evening in a traditional Greek taverna, ending in an ouzo after 2 or 3 hours, but we knew that before we booked. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chazland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    131
    49
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The starter was dips with nice bread. The dips were reasonable enough. Main was a decent lamb, maybe a bit too fatty but the potato and veg were good. The service was excellent but we may have just got lucky with a very attentive and friendly waitress. It was also an excellent value meal and overall a decent experience for a chain restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, I will be back!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Delicious food for a very reasonable price, particularly if you take the lunch menu option.

Service is fast, friendly and helpful staff.

Good quantities and very well presented.

Lovely location.

Perfect for a quick work lunch or meeting with friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlorencesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Don't often choose to eat Greek when we go out. We tried the summer special menu and thoughly enjoyed it. Found it one of the best value meals we have had for a while. If all Greeks were like this we would eat them more often.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Big_of_Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
217 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“5 * Food Staff Value”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to a Real Greek restaurant and why did we leave it so long!
Please open some near our home!
Dropped our daughter off at Uni in London, needed to find somewhere to eat locally and we were thoroughly impressed.
The £10 Summer meal was such good value and portion sizes and quality was not compromised.
Loved the way the food arrived at the table on a kind of stackable platter, loved the "high table" we were seated at, loved the environment at Spitalfields.
Thank you to the super friendly staff who put up with me changing my order to the lamb skewer some time after the order was placed.
p.s. hope to see you again next weekend, two reasons to visit London - see daughter & treat her to another meal there,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Real Greek - Spitalfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing