We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up market... go for a laugh”
Review of Sway Bar & Kitchen

Sway Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #6,789 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Throw decadent, uptight dining out the window and think cool, chic New York bars, filled with pizzas, tapas style sharing plates and delicious hand crafted classic cocktails by expert mixologists. Unwind after work with a glass of wine or craft beer from our new menu as day becomes evening. By night, Sway turns into an adult playground, serving sumptuous drinks in a New York style party atmosphere across a multi sensory and unparalleled late night experience. After a £1million refurbishment the venue is split across five unique rooms and experiences, including a brand new, bespoke club space, two VIP rooms and a stunning late night cocktail bar. Each features state of the art sound and visual, incredible entertainment and a high-energy, eclectic soundtrack courtesy of London's finest DJs. Our menu showcases classic cocktails alongside premium Champagnes, Spirits, Wines and Craft Beers. We offer VIP tables bookable Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights served by your own personal waitress, as well as private areas and Guest lists for each event. Welcome to the brand new Sway. Opening times: Monday - Wednesday: 11am - 12am Thursday: 11am-1am Friday & Saturday: 11am - 3am Sunday: Closed, available for private hire
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
754 reviews
620 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Not up market... go for a laugh”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Please do not go here thinking you are getting an upmarket night. Its just a regular bar with the usual after workers having a few drinks. The food is simple but very good value though if you have a tastecard or book via toptable etc you can get upto 50% off everything...

Dont take it seriously and you will be just fine.

Good service btw especially during lunch when its not busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    72
    40
    36
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“worst night out!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked Sway in advance (nearly 2 months in advance) the plan was to have dinner there and then stay on for cocktails drinks and dancing to celebrate our first night in London of our girly weekend. A few days before we due to arrive we had an email saying they had pushed our reservation time back by half an hour to 9pm - not ideal but we thought we would still go! When we go there at 9pm no one was aware we even existed there was no reservation, no table and more importantly they were stopping serving food at 9pm!! Angry doesn't cover it!! after demanding to see the manager we were given a corner booth and some 'party' food menu's - the choice was NOT good and the menu wasn't the one they had sent us in advance - the food was like cheap pub food - you could just imagine that it had come forzen they had just warmed it up in the mircowave. After the most appalling hour of eating in my life we then down the club area which again was poor and expensive. We have complained and they still haven't bothered to respond to either our calls or emails!! The only piece of advice I can give you is don't go there and don't let anyone you like go there!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Anyone fancy an early night”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I will try anywhere once, and often twice just in case, I have since been to Sway three times and every time I just kind of wish I'd gone home, made an excuse or been struck down with flu. It's everything you think it will be. Loud, expensive, trashy. It tries too hard and fails to deliver. If you have lots of cash to spend but no real taste then WELCOME! The staff are nice enough and one almost gets the feeling that they are working on commission to sign you up. The location is good but the venue smacks of Playboy meets TOWIE. If you're an experienced Londoner who is no longer happy to accept the kind of night out which envolves so so food, blaring music and drinks which even with the 'deals' still leaving you feeling like you could do with a shot of vodka straight into the bloodstream every two miutes to stand the atmosphere then do as I will from now on and not answer the phone when it rings!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A long wait for food”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

There was only one waiter trying to serve the whole restaurant so the service was very slow and the food only average

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SheenaHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely decor, very friendly staff, decent food!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I came for a business lunch here with 3 other colleagues. The decor was lovely and the seating was very comfy. The waiter was very attentive and helped us adapt the menu for veggie options. We all had a variety of things to eat - salad, chips, starters, burgers. All the food was nice, I would like to try it at dinner time as there is a different menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vixswarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sway Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Sway Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing