We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A West London gem”
Review of Mosob Restaurant

Mosob Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mosob Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #440 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $40
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Situated in London's Westbourne Park, just a five minute meander from the local tube stop, Mosob offers visitors a unique opportunity to experience the flavours and atmosphere of Eritrea. Family run, Mosob is warm and welcoming, with charming service really embracing the family-centric traditions of Eritrea and inviting guests to relax and unwind while being treated to the kitchen's vibrant cuisine. Influenced by geographic and historic links to Arabia, Ethiopia, the Sudan and Italy, Eritrean cuisine is uniquely distinctive with a strong variety of vegetarian and vegan dishes, individual spice blends and specialty injera bread used throughout, providing guests with flavours and eating styles they're unlikely to have come across before. Equally focused on tradition and history is Mosob's interior, carefully put together with colourful textiles, rough wood paneling and organic forms alongside contemporary lighting and furniture for comfort and style. Whether an intimate romantic meal, business lunch or dinner and drinks with friends, Mosob offers the food, atmosphere and service to ensure a night to remember.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A West London gem”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Located a few minutes walk from Westbourne Park tube, Mosob was surpassed expectations in all areas on our visit.
From the friendly, informative and diligent staff, the refreshing drinks to the tastefully decorated interior and the outstanding food, the Mosob experience was wonderful.

The food I hear you ask? I could rave for ages about it. Servings were generous and very filling, no doubt the injera bread is the staple but our two main courses and a simple starter was more than enough for two hungry adults. Gently spiced lamb, and the chefs veggie selection went down with a choir of oms and noms. Our first experience of Eritrean food will not be our last.

Please visit Mosob, you will not regret it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeJay72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    86
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“an unusual treat for the tastebuds”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Brilliant tasty food - would recommend the sharing platters and the 'Sexy Mosob' cocktail was delicious. The staff are attentive and are more than happy to explain the menu if it's your first visit. I would definitely go out of my way to visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I was searching for an ethiopian restaurant and got Mosob as the best rated one among them... Please note Mosob has eritrean food and not ethiopian so be sure about what you want first.. I had absolutely no expectations and no idea of what i was gonna have.. We got one of the menus some "sexy mosobs" and it was a delightful experience. The staff is so friendly and the food was wonderful. The injera is to die for..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, but service and prices can do better.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was introduced to Mosob and to Eritrean food through a colleague. I really enjoyed the experience the first time.

Today I visited this place with my wife, and the experience was far from enjoyable. Food continues to this place's strength and they are possibly one of the best at that. But...watch your pocket, and your ears as you may not get a worthy experience overall.

Probably...about time the business house moved out from the current crammed place. While it gives the community feel, but it gets obnoxiously loud.

Even the service was deplorable today, and the justification I got from them was "you know...all customers came at the same time". In my head i retorted "then why do you have that many tables??!!" But I stay polite, as the lady was really apologetic about the whole chaos.

Hopefully...it was one of not so many days in Mosob!

Bottom line - Food rocks!!....it's a shame such food can't be done take away! (Eureka!!??!!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanuj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

It is a short walk from Westbourne Park by tube. Easy to find. The food was excellent, but the portion was too big for me and my wife. The staff was very warm and friendly, helped us through and taught us a little bit about the country Eritrea. Overall, a nice small excellent authentic restaurant. Would confirm to return again. Love it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmzarPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosob Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Mosob Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing