We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Drink The Water”
Review of Oliveto

Oliveto
Ranked #4,300 of 28,484 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $88
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Reviewed May 19, 2019

Popped into Oliveto for a light dinner after a day of sightseeing. The dining area was simple and casual, yet cozy and inviting. The menu offered a variety of pasta dishes and pizzas. We shared a pizza, the Pizza Salsiccia (£13.50) and it was large enough for two people to share. I thought it was okay (supposed to be spicy sausage, but not at all spicy), but my wife said it was delicious. When offered water, we asked for still water not realizing the charge was nearly $6.00 (£4.50). There was a wine menu and it appeared that there was a full bar for other liquors. We each had a glass of the house white wine (£5.80). Also a bit surprised by the 12.5% automatic service charge.

We chatted with a woman at the table next to us and she indicated that Oliveto is a place frequented by folks living in the neighborhood. She had her five-year daughter with her and she seemed to be enjoying the pepperoni pizza. There was no children’s menu.

There was a dessert menu, but it seemed very pricey, for example, £8.50 for gelato or sorbet.

Service was prompt and friendly. The dining area was wheelchair accessible, but we did not visit the restrooms, so no idea if those were accessible.

If you are looking for very causal dining with good pizza and a good drink selection, go to Oliveto. Just beware of the costly water.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SOCIAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 212 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2019

One of my favorite spots in London for casual dinners.
The quality of the food is first class and the service is always quick and willing.
The pastas and the pizzas are as good as always and in general there are no dishes that are second class! The only thing that my friends at Oliveto have to pay some attention to are their prices which are approaching the 50 pound/person mark (for a 3 course dinner).

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheodoreL164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Oliveto was just around the corner from our hotel and came highly recommended by a friend. It didn't disappoint. After a full day of sightseeing, Oliveto was perfect. We had pasta, pizza and some nice glasses of red wine. Hit the spot. We didn't have a reservation and luckily got a table. The restaurant is a neighborhood favorite and by the time we left it was totally full.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank niniBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019

Neighbourhood restaurant
Italian food
Many options
We had several starters as a meal to save room for the pana cotta
Great way to end a busy day
Will return

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 395edwardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

Very nice ambiance, went there with a friend for lunch and the food was tasty, service was very attentive

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Fortuneandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliveto also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Oliveto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing