We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine italian food in Chelsea”
Review of Frantoio

Frantoio
Ranked #4,348 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $76 - $76
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
472 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Genuine italian food in Chelsea”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a genuine Italian family restaurant and clearly many customers live locally and go back regularly. The food is excellent and the atmosphere informal and intimate although rarely can get quite exciting with dancing around the tables! The service is friendly and personable and everyone is made to feel very welcome. The menu is limited but this usually indicated that the food is fresh. There is also a list of daily specials. You will not go here for haute cuisine but for delicious home cooked food. The prawns, veal and fish are especially recommended and you will leave full and also with the feel good factor of money well spent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluebellplasnewydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    27
    12
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would definitely return.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not the most AMAZING food I've ever had but good all the same. The owner is very friendly, helpful and has a lovely dry sense of humour (as long as you have a sense of humour too you will be fine). The restaurant is clean and the service is quick, the toilets are clean and comfortable, and the food is varied. I would like to visit again. Make sure you ask them what each item comes with as, for some of he dishes, we were expecting more so had to order some sides AFTER the food had arrived.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merilea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An old haunt revisited”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We used to go to Frantoio's fairly regularly having followed the owner up from Balham. Last night was our first visit for a couple of years. If anything it was better. We were warmly welcomed ( I know we are old customers but everyone gets a a warm welcome) the food was excellent and more generous than I remembered and was served by the no-nonsense family style waiters. They had run out of the house red which forced us into something better which went superbly well with my delicious liver. Atmosphere was great as always and packed on a Tuesday night, even late. Will definitely keep going. For first timers don't expect 'West End' this is a family run fun place to eat with good food and service which attracts interesting and discerning people

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Infrequentluncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant in London”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I visited Frantoio in December 2012.
I had a great time . Service impeccable, the food was fantastic...
It is a wonderful place to spend an evening between friends or business partners alike.
It is price reasonably and I would have paid 10 % more if asked ...
The place was full mid week... Highly recommended....
Book early as it will be difficult to get a table !!

Helpful?
Thank FroggerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've been to Frantoio's four times now for lunch and have been very impressed on each visit. The staff were very welcoming, the service was good and the food was excellent. An authentic Italian restaurant. What more could want? Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nat99L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frantoio also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Frantoio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing