We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Saturday evevning meal”

Cheneston's Restaurant
Ranked #1,917 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Earls Court
Transit: High St Kensington
Description: "Just off Kensington High Street, the award-winning Milestone Hotel's Cheneston Restaurant offers a spot of luxury for lunch and dinner. Reminiscent of a stately home, the room's focal point is the fancy fireplacein front of which charming staff pass to and fro attending to your every need. Our Executive Chef's international menu focuses on Modern British quisine, and his deserts are simply Divine - try sticky toffee pudding with butterscotch sauce and clotted cream washed down with a sweet glass of Muscat de Rivesaltes 1998. Splendid." in front of which charming staff pass to and fro attending to your every need. Trevor Baines' international menu focuses on Modern British dishes such as a smoked haddock and leek fritter starter, and main of pan fried calves liver, bacon, red cabbage and mash served with onion gravy. Desserts are divine - try sticky toffee pudding with butterscotch sauce and clotted cream washed down with a sweet glass of Muscat de Rivesaltes 1998. Splendid."
Cardiff wales
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Stunning Saturday evevning meal”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

3 of us dined here on Saturday evening. Myself a friend and my son.
The whole meal was top notch from start to finish with the most attentive service from our waiter Augustin. Thank-you Augustin:)
The mouche bouche consisted of beetroot with almond which was delicious.
We had the scallops for starter and they were cooked to perfection.
Kobe steak for main which was served with home made chips a green salad and a black truffel sauce. Again delicious.
Dessert was a chocolate souffle with ice cream mmmm stunning.
Cant wait to return 10/10

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    26
    9
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Afternoon Tea Delight”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I decided to take my elderly auntie for Afternoon Tea at The Milestone. It was bitterly cold and windy on the day we went but from the moment the doorman held the door open for us and we stepped into The Milestone all that was forgotten. Greeted very warmly and our coats taken from us we were taken to our table in the Park Lounge. Complete with an open fire and inviting comfortable chairs. Our waiter Olivier greeted us warmly and we started with a glass of champagne.Next we chose what tea we would like from the many varities available.Olivier was on hand to answer any questions that we had, he showed a deep knowledge of the teas.
And so the feast began, first the finger sandwhiches, followed by WARM scones with home made jam and Devonshire clotted cream which were very scrummy and finally a selection of pastries. Everything is made by the kitchen staff at the hotel in the morning.
Throughout the visit Olivier kept our teapots filled up and even boxed up what we had not eaten so that we could take them away.
Both my Auntie and I had a fantastic Afternoon Tea at Milestone Hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Excellent service and excellent value for money.
And if you do eat too much and feel rather full after your visit, you can always walk out the hotel and across the road and have a walk through Hyde Park.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connorlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't dine Sunday evening”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Milestone is an extremely charming hotel with an excellent menu at reasonable prices, but our last visit Easter Sunday was a great disapointment.Our host had booked the tabel well in advance and even discussed the lam menu with the chef, but the head waiter seemed extremely uninterested in our visit. There were no other guest when we arrived, but he told us that they had been extremely busy for afternoon tea. Nice to know.
We were given the lunch menu to look at, really bargain prices, 3 courses, including coffee for 35 GBP.
The start with all the different bread and 5 types of butter created enourmous expectations, but my Chicken parfait/fois gras starter had not been cooked and was fluid. The lam was on a trolley but it was cold at 18.30. Our host, a reegular of the hotel, told the head waiter but did not even receive an excuse.
Really ashame that the old saying about not going out on a Sunday night were proven right.
We are certain that Cheneston's can be fantastic. They have the surroundings and the menu they just need to have some supervision in the kitchen and on the floor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lars T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Dinner for six on our last night in London. Everything was perfect. Best meal by far in London. Service and food exceeded our expatations.

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“There are better places for afternoon tea in London”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have booked an afternoon tea at this hotel based on good reviews and lovely images of the location. I also wanted to try another place in London for tea and thought the Milestone Hotel looked as the right place. Even though it is easy to pass by the humble façade of the hotel and look for a grander building, once inside, this place is a real treat. One aspect, which never let us down was the attentive and sometimes too formal welcoming of the staff. At one point we had around six people watching us in the lobby, which was a bit confusing. The room where we had our afternoon tea was a stunning and beautifully decorated sitting room with an impressive range of furniture, paintings, fireplace and other decorations. It was big enough to incorporate six tables (different sizes). Throughout, we heard the sounds of a piano playing somewhere, but could not tell if it was a live performance or recorded. The service continued to be perfect. The same cannot be said about the afternoon tea itself. That was a total disappointment, apart from the scones that were served warm and were delicious. Everything else I could only bite to taste once and then put back on the tray. The sandwiches, cakes, pastries, scones and even the tea did not belong in this beautiful setting. The staff also managed to charge us £700 for the afternoon tea, by mistake, which led to a number of refunds, new transactions and bank cards being charged. Some guests took with them what was left in beautiful designed boxes, but despite having a good time, I would not recommend this hotel for their afternoon tea.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheneston's Restaurant also viewed

 
Enfield, Greater London
 

Been to Cheneston's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing