We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and stuffy”
Review of Champor-Champor

Champor-Champor
Ranked #1,914 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $84
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Southwark
Cross street: Snowsfields
Transit: We are located just three minutes' walk from London Bridge rail and underground stations. Take the exit to St Thomas Street and Guys Hospital. Turn left along St Thomas Street, opposite the Shard Building Site. Turn first right into Weston street and we are located 150 metres along on the left directly opposite the Greenwood Theatre.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hot and stuffy”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

An average type of place. Prices aren't expensive, but definitely not cheap. Service is unattentive. Food tasty, but some of it was a little undercooked and rather too liberal on some very woody lemongrass.

Helpful?
Thank Matlot2020
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    139
    59
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant near London Bridge - "Asian" experience”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a great evening at this restaurant. The menu is unusual (not authentic anything - thai-malaysian-modern hybrid) but delicious and very well prepared. Great options to cover meat eaters, pescatarians and veggies. I was spoiled for choice. Interesting decor that helped create a great atmosphere. Good wine selection (small but nice) and attentive service. Not cheap but very well worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Eclectic!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We weren't quite sure what cuisine we were eating (a very strange mixture of styles but they seemed to deliver under the working title of Eastern cooking) and what we did eat was good! Not cheap. Service attentive. Wine a bit pricey. Decor a hoot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exotica”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Half the enjoyment of eating here was the decor. Paintings, hangings and statuary adorn all the walls. We were lucky to walk in and find a table for two in a packed restaurnat which was abuss with happy diners. The menu provides a vast range of eastern dishes. It wasn't the best food we've ever eaten but it was fun and memorable.Our bill for two with lots of wine and service charge of 12.5% was 113 pounds.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brisbanite65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Downhill from the starter”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

to begin with they got the time of our reservation wrong and when we arrived insisted we have the starter and main together as the kitchen was due to close. the starter of soft shell crab was delicious but the chicken liver and green peppercorn pate was tasteless, too cold and had no hint of peppercorns.
we requested the mains be made spicy as the waitress said everything was mild. unfortunately all this involved was them adding raw red chillies to each dish. the beef rendang was ok but the green chicken curry was too salty, with a really unpleasent thick green sauce, the chicken (thighs) was undercooked and the whole dish was disappointing.
then there was the pudding...........we ordered a chocolate chilli tart to share.....it took ages to arrive and when it did it was one of the most vile things i have ever eaten. we had one spoonful each and left the rest.........it was basically cream cheese with drinking chocolate and chilli mixed in....completely revolting.
the service was terrible.....really slow with a waitress who seemed only to be interested in making sure we knew the kitchen was closing and we were causing her a massive inconvenience by wanting to be served. overpriced, terrible service......NEVER EVER eat here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ondinel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champor-Champor also viewed

 

Been to Champor-Champor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing