We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb set meal with wine flight”

L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #532 of 22,808 Restaurants in London
Price range: $59 - $281
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Drawing on Joel Robuchon's internationally renowned culinary expertise, already accredited with several Michelin Stars at restaurants throughout the world, L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon's philosophy is based on serving simple cuisine of the most exceptional quality. This London restaurant has been awarded Michelin Star, as well as 3 AA Rosettes, establishing it as one of the most exceptional places to dine in London. Robuchon's menu delights the palate with clean insightful flavours and refreshingly understated presentation. The dishes are predominantly French with Italian and Spanish influences. The dining experience at L'Atelier is an interactive one. On the ground floor, the eating counter surrounds the entire kitchen where the food is prepared. Robuchon sees the immediate benefit of this Japanese-inspired layout to chefs, as one can gauge the reaction of clients, and even converse with them whilst they watch their food being prepared. Unlike the sister restaurants in Paris and Tokyo, the London restaurant also has another 20 seats where diners can sit opposite each other. Meanwhile, La Cuisine on the first floor offers more traditional restaurant seating in a setting that could be likened to dining in the kitchen itself. Wherever you are seated you will enjoy the highest quality food in an informal, convivial environment. Valet parking is also available. Please note, last reservations are taken half an hour prior to closing time. Dress code: Smart Casual, shorts are not permitted.
london
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb set meal with wine flight”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The 3 or 4 course set menu with optional wine flight options is great value for a 2 michelin star restaurant. There are 7 or 8 options for each course and I highly recommend the lobster fricasse with chestnuts main course, which has a £9 supplement but was worth every penny.
The service is always exceptional at this restaurant and was no exception on this visit.
Ask to sit up at the counter and watch the chefs prepare everything, a foodies dream!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwichick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,160
    373
    175
    80
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“An excellent meal let down only by some service issues”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a lovely meal here, the food and attention to detail was exceptional. We arrived at 7:30 and didnt leave till 11:30!

They knew about my wife's gluten allergy and provided her GF bread, and adjusted some of the tasting menu for her.

Service was at times slow (no real issue, we were happy to take our time).

One of the dishes they got wrong and had to take mine away, and we had to wait 15 minutes more for the course to be re-done. Also salad with my wife's cheese course came with croutons.

Other than that a wonderful experience, as you would hope for not far short of £400 for 2 people!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Utterly spectacular”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We wondered what the head chef was working on so diligently in front of us for 15 minutes, and it turned out to be my wife's appetizer. The sincere attention to detail is extraordinary, and the ability to watch the staff prepare the dishes a one of a kind great experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing food experience”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch and chose from the set menu, which in my opinion offers really good value. (50 pounds for a three courses lunch with matching wines). From the amuse bouche to the desert, everything was perfect. The dishes are original and I was impressed by their presentation. Service is great, not over the top like you could suspect from a two stars restaurant. The place itself is not too fancy, just beautiful with a modern and purist decor.

It was basically perfect!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Flawless”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We went there for dinner yesterday and the whole experience was simply flawless. We opted for the pre-theatre 3 course set menu and all I can say is that I woke up this morning still thinking about the amazing main course of pheasant that I had!
We were seated at the bar and welcomed with a complimentary gin fizz, a nice touch. This was followed by a divine amuse bouche. One of the pickier eaters in our party was not a fan of foie gras, which was one of the ingredients of the amuse bouche. Without even having to ask for it, she was offered an alternative, which was a very nice gesture.
I ordered the oignon doux as a starter, the pheasant as a main and le bonbon as a dessert. The arrival of the food was perfectly paced and I can't fault any of the dishes, each course was beyond delicious.
After having seeing some pictures of the restaurant on tripadvisor I was a little unsure wether I would like the decor. However, contrary to my expectations the decor was very tasteful and the whole ambience was wonderful. Unlike some other high-end restaurants we have been to, we were treated with the same level of impeccable service you would expect from a Michelin starred restaurant despite opting for the pre-theatre set menu. The staff deserve credit for being friendly, elegant and accommodating at all times. They go the extra mile to make each guest feel special.
I can't wait to go back and would recommend it to everyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil-n-Aggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon also viewed

 

Been to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing