We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”

L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon
Ranked #532 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $275
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Drawing on Joel Robuchon's internationally renowned culinary expertise, already accredited with several Michelin Stars at restaurants throughout the world, L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon's philosophy is based on serving simple cuisine of the most exceptional quality. This London restaurant has been awarded Michelin Star, as well as 3 AA Rosettes, establishing it as one of the most exceptional places to dine in London. Robuchon's menu delights the palate with clean insightful flavours and refreshingly understated presentation. The dishes are predominantly French with Italian and Spanish influences. The dining experience at L'Atelier is an interactive one. On the ground floor, the eating counter surrounds the entire kitchen where the food is prepared. Robuchon sees the immediate benefit of this Japanese-inspired layout to chefs, as one can gauge the reaction of clients, and even converse with them whilst they watch their food being prepared. Unlike the sister restaurants in Paris and Tokyo, the London restaurant also has another 20 seats where diners can sit opposite each other. Meanwhile, La Cuisine on the first floor offers more traditional restaurant seating in a setting that could be likened to dining in the kitchen itself. Wherever you are seated you will enjoy the highest quality food in an informal, convivial environment. Valet parking is also available. Please note, last reservations are taken half an hour prior to closing time. Dress code: Smart Casual, shorts are not permitted.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was a business party event with a group of twenty or so of us using the first floor private dining. We initially had drinks upstairs in the bar followed by the tasting menu and then further drinks in the bar / small area of outside seating. A superb evening albeit quite pricey when plenty of drinks included

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy8Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,134
    363
    169
    79
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Small Plates - Gigantic Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic Saturday night meal sitting at the workshop. The small plates format was fantastic to sample a number of inventive and some traditional French dishes.

The service was excellent. The wait staff was very good. Being able to watch the chefs work was a unique and fun experience.

The sommelier was great as you would expect. He was also very inventive and paired some wines with dishes that I would not think of. Also any place with Pappy Van Winkle is a major plus for an after dinner drink.

Best restaurant we have been to in London.

Helpful?
1 Thank JCollura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best dining experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I treated my wife to an evening and night in London and chose this restaurant as a birthday treat. If you are looking for excellent service from A to Z, the best food you have ever tasted and sublime wines to accompany your treat, this restaurant is a must.

We have been treated like royalty and difficult decisions like choosing the correct wine to go with your food were simply resolved by the excellent sommelier.

Try a variety of the starters, this way you can be sure to indulge in more than just one starter and a main. We had 4 different starters and then a steak - it was heaven on a plate.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BavarianTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Do not miss this dining experience, pre-theatre is exceptionally good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had planned our visit to London in anticipation of fine dining, excellent wine follwed by an evening of entertainment and we were not in the slightest disappointed by starting at L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon. We were three couples from the North of England and whilst that part of the country is not over endowed with Michelin stars we like to think that we recognise a wonderful food experience. Originally we were booked for late luncheon but cancelled trains prevented that but the restaurant staff were very accommodating and offered pre-theatre as an alternative.

My starter of game pate with foie gras and pistachio was simply sublime and of a size not to leave one hungry. Others had carpaccio of sea bass with tobic eggs and chilli which drew out those heart warming sounds of satisfied diners. Two of the party ordered soft boiled eggs with Japanese aubergine veloutte flavoured with cumin, equally splendid. Finally the pumpkin soup with smoked bacon cream was simply delicious. Selected wines included a white burgundy and a Madiran, both sublime accompaniments to the food.

The main courses elicited further sounds of delight from each and everyone of us. I had braised beef chuck in red wine which simply melted in ones mouth. This was accompanied with tiny cannellonis stuffed with pureed carrot with a hint of cumin and finished with aged Compte cheese (one of my favourites). This was simply sublime, there is no other word for it. The lamb saddle stuffed with herbs and confit potatoes drew similar plaudits from three of my friends who simply could not resist. Others had a simple but very tasty spaghetti with confit cherry tomatoes and sauteed squid with chorizo. Not one complaint.

You could stop there and just be charged a paltry £22 for the food, I would advise not. The puddings are to behold in design, presentation and taste. The resounding superlatives are well worth the price tag of an extra £11 and I would advise to take a glass of the wine suggestions with the pudding, pure complement.

The staff are friendly and show the efficiency you would expect of a Michelin 2* restaurant. Each dish is announced and described to each diner (including the spoon that my wife asked for to share in a pudding!!).

If you have a need for superb food within a defined budget then this pre-theatre menu is well worth going for. Naturally you can go off piste with the concommitant thrills that brings, if the budget allows. I think that I will definitely be returning to this one.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archie58UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My date and I visited for a Sunday lunch. Sitting at the bar was great - the kitchen runs with precision and efficiency, and a minimum of noise or fuss. Fascinating to watch. Possibly not ideal for seating if you are a group of more than 3, as it would be difficult to talk. The seats are close together, but it didn't feel crowded or awkward sitting in close proximity to the neighboring couple.

We went for the 3 course set menu - having read previous reviews I was quite impressed by the size of the dishes (having expected very small portions), and the flavors were fantastic. I had considered going for the 4 course, but don't think that is necessary as we were pleasantly full on leaving - if you do go for the 4 course then I would recommend going light on the bread to start - difficult as it was delicious. The food was of excellent standard, particularly the pate to start, the lamb main and the chocolate desert. We started with cocktails which were fabulous, and the matching wines - particularly the desert wine - also lovely. Fairly good value for money considering the standard of food, which was wonderful.

Loved the smart but relaxed vibe - we felt very welcomed and comfortable. Would highly recommend, and would love to return to try the full tasting menu once a suitable occasion to splurge rolls around!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZtraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing