We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, genuine French atmosphere!”
Review of La Cage Imaginaire

La Cage Imaginaire
Reserve with OpenTable
La Cage Imaginaire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,513 of 22,808 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $69
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, genuine French atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had saturday lunch with my better half during a visit to Hampstead after spotting this on Tripadvisor. One of the best meals we've had this year, the dining room is small so do not expect acres of space but do expect a proper French atmosphere, nicely judged menu perfectly executed from the olives and tap water served up front to the pud and above all great value for money. We had three courses each, a bottle of house red (highly recommended) and our bill including tip was under £70. A real gem. We shall certainly return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    70
    29
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A treasure to discover in Hampstead.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Like other reviewers, we had walked past this lovely restaurant on many occasions, but always forgot to give it a try.

Had evening meal last night (Saturday). It is an intimate place with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. We both had scallops for starters and sea bass for main course. Well prepared and cooked and very flavoursome. Try the De Chansac 2012 red if you like something different - very palatable and full bodied. The chocolate pot from the desert menu rounded off a lovely evening.

Thoroughly recommended. Book a table now!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nickciob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice little hideaway.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The food here was very nice. The onion soup was perfect. The set price menu is a great value especially given the perfect hideaway location on Flask Walk near the Hampstead tube stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Cute little place that I've walked passed a million times, assuming it was out of my price range. How wrong I was and more importantly, how impressed I was, not only with the price but the food and menu too... Knockout little place and hidden away that you feel a little transported to another world. It's traditional and inviting with table clothes (yeah). The food is maybe an 8/10 but for only £4.95 for starters/desserts and all mains £9.95, I don't expect Michelin!! There is an a la carte menu too but even that won't push you above £30 per head for 3 courses. They're doing something so right as they've been there 39 years. Am just so gutted what I've missing (until now)! By the way the French staff are adorable; I think the previous review was for the wrong restaurant........

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AnnLondon”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Recent reviews are a little misleading. We had a disappointing lunch, with no sign of the delightfully French young ladies. Lots of space when we arrived, but we were shown to a very small table against the wall around a corner. The rose in the vase on our table was dead, as were those on several other tables. We didn't see 'warm rolls' - we were offered one small warm slice of bread each, and the bread was then taken away.
Ravioli in a sage and butter sauce had no evidence of sage whatever, and the pasta was tough. Lamb was OK - though I had asked for it to be very rare and it was well done.
Price is certainly reasonable, but experience disappointing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cage Imaginaire also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to La Cage Imaginaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing